Meet Violet!

CLICK HERE to find out about our adoption policies.

CLICK HERE to apply.

Violet

Breed: Pure Bred Golden Retriever
Age: 7 years
Gender:Female
Weight: 100 lbs
Altered: Yes

Hi, my name is Violet and I'm as beautiful as the flower I'm named after! Charming, Sweet, Easy Going and Happy! I'm the perfect sweetheart that will change your world with my loving and gentle personality. I'm a 7 year old Golden Retriever. My DOB is 4/2010. I came into AGN very obese at 100 pounds and I need to lose a good 30+ pounds slowly over time. This should be done with a holistic dog food and moderate and consistent daily exercise. I'm a lot of Golden to love right now, but I will be happier and healthier at my ideal weight.

I was surrendered with my companion, Bailey (who will be posted soon). He is an 8 year old Golden Retriever and we were a breeding pair who've been together all of our lives. Our owner moved and could no longer care for us. Although Bailey and I had to be separated into different foster homes, we are both happy and ready to find our forever families. I've made a smooth transition to my foster home where I've made new furry friends. My foster parents just adore me and say I'm "as perfect as it gets".

Personality Traits: All around sweetheart who is the typical loving Golden, velcro shadow, gentle, laid back, easy going and adore just being with my humans; friendly to everyone and always happy to make new friends

Status with People: Love all people and children; live with a 12 year old in my foster home; ultimate velcro shadow who craves affection

Status with Dogs: Great with other dogs and a bit on the submissive side; have male and female furry foster siblings; tend to migrate toward my furry foster sister, often trying to initiate play, but will also play tug with my furry foster brother; went to the dog park recently, but was more interested in getting loved on by the people than playing with the dogs

Status with Cats: Ignored a cat I was exposed to recently so probably fine with them

Favorite Toys: Like to play with my rope toy and will continue to learn how to play with toys if you'll play with me, too

Energy Level: Lower energy inside with moderate energy outside; energy most likely will increase with weight loss

House Trained: Yes

Crate Trained: No, I have free roam in the house and do great; I sleep on my orthopedic dog bed in my foster parents room at night

House Manners: Wonderful manners in the house and not destructive in any way; perfect "lady" and don't bother anything

Storm Phobia: No

Leash Manners: Good on leash and do not pull

Exercise:Consistent daily walking is SO IMPORTANT for me in my weight loss journey; can't walk far distances right now, but slowing increasing my stamina; need someone who is fully committed to taking short walks multiple times per day and building up over time

Car Rides: Scared to get into the car and have a difficult time due to my obesity; need a ramp or someone to serve as my "human elevator" to assist me; quite nervous right now when the car is moving; need to associate the car with fun, positive things and this will improve over time; I've never had the luxury of car rides so it's all new

Basic Commands: Sit and will come when you call my name as it's been my name since birth and I'm eager to please

Special/Medical Needs: Vet recommends that I lose 30+ pounds at a rate of 3% body weight per month; Thyroid lab value was on the lower limit of normal so needs to be rechecked in 6 months

Additonal things I need in my forever home:
-Someone committed and focused on my weight loss and exercise to maximize my health
-Low key family that likes to engage in gentle daily exercise such as strolls through the neighborhood and park, leisurely hikes through the trails, etc.
-Calm and quiet household because I'm a "hang out with you" kind of girl that loves to just chill out and watch movies with you, lie beside you when you read a book on the patio, hang out with you while you garden, nap next to you while you work on your computer, etc.
-A working home is fine as long as you have plenty of time to spend with me before and after work and are not gone long hours; I'd prefer a dog companion if you work as I've never been an only dog and I might get lonely
-I'd be content as only dog soaking up all the love and attention or I'd do fine with another calm dog
-I need orthopedic dog beds to protect my joints and bring me comfort when I nap and sleep.
-Children would be just fine as I'm gentle, but I'm not the Golden to run and play with children

I'm a loving and special Golden that wants nothing more than to enjoy each day by your side. I'm a low-key and easy going sweetheart who is as sweet as it gets. And I'm quite close to perfect. So I'm here waiting for you if you are committed to getting me to my ideal weight; have extra love and attention that you can share and you enjoy a velcro shadow. I enjoy life and have so much unconditional love to give. I don't ask for much, just your love, kindness and devotion. I promise to bless your life with so much happiness and joy. Will you share your love with me? I will give you all of mine!

Luv, Violet



Photos by Amanda Murray and Violet's foster mom

Additional information: *Housetrained *Current on shots