Meet Trudy!

CLICK HERE to find out about our adoption policies.

CLICK HERE to apply.

Trudy

Breed: Lab/Golden (mix)
Age: 8 years old
Gender: female
Weight: 80 lbs
Altered: Yes

Happy, playful, sweet, dog-loving, enthusiastic kisser looking for a family to love! Hi, I'm Trudy! If you enjoy the pitter patter of paws following you and have a dog looking for a buddy, I'm your girl! I'm an approximately 8 year old Retriever mix. I have a youthful spirit for my age. I weigh 80 pounds and that's too "fluffy" for me. I need to lose 15 pounds to be at my ideal weight and return to my girlish figure. This should be done with holistic dog food and moderate and consistent daily exercise. I'm ready to walk, so put on your tennis shoes and let's go!

I was found as a stray by animal control. Sadly, no one came looking for me. I was the happiest girl in the world when AGN volunteers came and got me. I couldn't get out of the shelter door fast enough. Someone loved me once and I don't know what happened to them. What I do know is that I have a second chance at happiness and I'm embracing it. I'm ready to start the next chapter of my life with my forever family. Could it be you?

Personality Traits: I'm a super sweet girl who craves attention from my humans and loves playing with other dogs. I'm a calm, easy going girl most of the time, but have a streak of puppy energy that shows up a couple of times per day. Friendly to everyone and always happy to make new friends. Will make you smile with my silly antics. I'm emotionally younger than my age, but my extra weight keeps my physical body from matching that youthful spirit.

Status with People:Good with all people. Velcro shadow who craves affection from my humans. Can be happy mouthy in excitement. This is how I show my joyful emotion.

Status with Dogs: Great with other dogs, crave their companionship and enjoy playing with them. Love the dog park. Good with both genders, all sizes and all ages. Have a 7 year old Golden foster sibling. We get along great. He doesn't play with me much, although I initiate play with him. Really need a dog buddy to play with as it makes me happy!

Status with Cats: Good with cats. Have a cat foster sibling and ignore him.

Favorite Toys:Love toys! Like to play with my stuffy toys and bones. Will fetch them, but not interested yet in a ball. I even leap in the air to catch my stuffy (probably not the best for me at my age and weight, but I sure do love it!)

Energy Level:Moderate energy overall, with times of lower energy and bursts of puppy energy. Energy most likely will increase with weight loss as I'm quite young at heart. Sometimes it's like I have springs on my paws. I get bouncy in excitement on my front paws. And, boy oh boy, you should see me leap into the air to catch a toy. It's impressive, but not ideal for me.

House Trained:Yes. I will "talk" or bark to let you know I need to go out.

Crate Trained: No, I have free roam in the house and do great. I sleep on my orthopedic dog bed in my foster parents room at night.

House Manners:Good manners in the house and not destructive in any way, but like to have the blinds open so I can see out. I get "talky" and sometimes bark when I want to play or go outside...I'm trying to get your attention.

Storm Phobia:No

Leash Manners:: Good on leash and do not pull unless I see another dog. I'm thrilled to be friends with every dog I meet so I get excited when I see other dogs on walks.

Exercise: I take four 20 minute walks a day right now. Consistent daily walking is SO IMPORTANT for me in my weight loss journey and overall health. Need someone fully committed to my walking. We can be healthy together! A body in motion stays in motion!

Car Rides:I'm a little anxious in the car, but do well. I just need to associate the car with positive things by taking rides to fun places.

Basic Commands:Sit

Medical: Vet recommends that I lose 15 pounds with a healthy, holistic diet and lots of gentle exercise. I also have some arthritis that calls for daily glucosamine supplements. Have some benign fatty lipomas that come with age that should be watched.

Things I need in my forever home:
-Someone committed and focused on my weight loss and exercise to maximize my health
-Family that likes to engage in gentle daily exercise such as strolls through the neighborhood and park, leisurely hikes through the trails, etc.
-A non-working or part-time working home is preferred. A working home will be considered as long as you have plenty of time to spend with me before and after work and are not gone long hours.
-I'd highly prefer a dog friend as I love the companionship and enjoy playing with other dogs.
-I need orthopedic dog beds to protect my joints and bring me comfort when I nap and sleep.
-A townhome/condo is fine as long as I get the exercise I need.

I'm a sweet, happy girl who wants nothing more than to enjoy each day making fun memories with my family, both human and furry. I'm an easy going sweetheart who still has some inner puppy to make you laugh. I'm here waiting for you if you are committed to getting me to my ideal weight; have extra love and attention that you can share and you enjoy a kissing, velcro shadow who loves to play with other dogs. I enjoy life and have so much unconditional love to give. I don't ask for much, just your love, kindness, devotion...and some stuffy toy retrieving time.

Luv, Trudy

Photos by Susan Peck Photography and Trudy's foster mom

Additional information: *Housetrained *Current on shots