Meet Tripp!

CLICK HERE to find out about our adoption policies.

CLICK HERE to apply.


Breed: Golden Retriever (mix)
Age: 10 months old
Gender: male
Weight: 42 lbs
Altered: Yes

Hang onto your heart as I'll steal it in an instant! Hi, I'm Tripp. I'm a love bug of a pup who wants nothing more than your affection once I know and trust you. I'm an approximately 10 month old Golden mix, but I'm wise beyond my years. I weigh 42 pounds and look like a "mini English Cream Golden'...but, I'm not). I'm a special mix of Golden goodness that is just as darling as can be. My charming sweetness will touch your heart and soul.

AGN volunteers rescued me from the shelter. I've been through a lot of sadness in my short life as I was dumped on the side of a rural road with 3 other dogs. We didn't know what to do, so we just sat and waited for days for someone to help us. Only feel heartbroken for me for a moment because, although I have a sad past, the volunteers of AGN have saved me and my new life is starting. I'm experiencing love, happiness and fun for the first time...and oh boy, am I having fun in my foster home! Now, I'm ready to find my forever family to start the next chapter of my furry life.

Personality Traits: I'm sweet and shy until I get to know you. You'll fall in love with me, as long as you give me a chance, as I'm shy of strangers at first. Although an older puppy, I'm laid back compared to purebred Goldens my age. Active, but not hyper. Typical "velcro shadow" that follows you and longs for your affection. Learning things for the first time. Curious and cautious at first of certain things, and I'm building confidence each day. I've been an easy pup who just fits into the "pack" without issue. Social, but not an "in your face" kind of pup. Gentle and appreciative of all the love and attention you'll share. Moments of mischievous "puppy-ness" that make you laugh and remember to puppy proof.

Status with People:I'm shy of strangers (and fearful of men) at first, but warm up in a short time to women and children. I just need to know that I can trust you. I really love older children and adore my human foster sister who is 12. I snuggle right up with her, gentle as a lamb. I'm fearful of men and strangers inside the home and will often bark in fear, but have been fine with men and strangers outside the home, at the dog park, etc. I typically just do my thing and ignore them. Yummy treats are the trick for me to become comfortable with new people. Gentle and sweet with all people once I know them. Love my humans very much.

Status with Dogs: Great with other dogs! Get along with every dog I've met so far. I lean on the submissive to neutral side and take instructions from my furry foster sisters. I like to run and play with my furry foster sisters and play with other dogs at the dog park. I can get overwhelmed with an overly assertive or dominant dog. Good with both genders and all ages. I share toys nicely with my dog friends.

Status with Cats: Fine with cats, but I do want to play with the cats in my foster home. We like to drink out of the same water bowl at the same time.

Favorite Toys:I enjoy toys and balls, especially the ones that squeak. Also, nylabones, kongs, himalayan chews, etc.

Energy Level:Moderate, especially for a puppy. Not a hyper puppy, just active, but lower energy than most purebred Golden puppies my age. Whatever I'm mixed with provides a tremendous benefit in this area as I've got a mellow demeanor about me.

House Trained:Yes. Training me to "poochie bells" would be a great benefit so I could give clear communication that I need to go out.

Crate Trained:I don't care for the crate. Foster mom is working on getting me used to it. Probably don't need it if the house is super puppy proofed and someone has an eye on me. Do need it when you're gone, though, as I might chew. Although a more mellow puppy for a puppy, I'm still a puppy. So, if the home is not puppy-proofed....I likely will get into something.

House Manners:Puppy proofing is key! Foster mom does a good job at puppy-proofing and does not leave tempting things on the counter as I will counter surf. I do hover for human food, but can be re-directed easily with positive reinforcement.

Storm Phobia:None seen, but I'm not a fan of loud or sudden startling noises...scary!

Leash Manners:: Good on leash, especially for such a young age, but do like to check things out and sniff. Do not pull with my Walk Your Dog With Love Harness. Be alert though because if something scares me, I may try to run away so my collar and harness should always be secure.

Exercise: Get quite a bit of exercise walking and playing outside (and inside) with my dog friends. A tired pup is a good pup so significant daily exercise is important for me. In time, this will also help with my confidence building. Agility would be wonderful for me to build confidence and get exercise.

Car Rides:I'm a bit nervous at first, but settle down eventually. I was dumped on the side of the road, so the car brings negativity right now. I just need fun and positive adventures in the car. Also, some yummy treats waiting for me in the backseat would be great to get me excited about the car.

Basic Commands:Sit, working on Down (Lie Down), Off and Paw (for shake)

Things I need in my forever home:
-Someone who understands I've been through a lot and is committed to working with me in a positive manner as I continue to learn
-Someone committed to focusing on my positive socialization. I need to associate the world with positive experiences. Someone who understands that I'm hesitant of men and strangers and sometimes new things and help me build confidence.
-Moderately active family that enjoys the outdoors and is committed to my daily exercise. I'm only 10 months old so significant exercise is needed.
- Not too chaotic of a household where random people are not in and out often. I need a more stable environment with a daily routine so I'm not fearful of what's coming next.
-Someone who doesn't work, works from home or works part time is best as I'm still learning each day. I can't continue to progress unless someone has the time to work with me on a daily basis. I need the human interaction.
-Positive reinforcement obedience training classes would be beneficial. This will help us bond and build our relationship...and it's so much fun. Agility would be great for me as it would help build my confidence with new things.
-I'd do great in a home with older children and I love and adore kids!
- I prefer another nice, gentle and confident dog to serve as my mentor. One that will play with me and guide me. That is the quickest way for me to learn. I'm a follower and learn by watching other dogs. Another dog will help me build confidence.

So, if you're looking for an older puppy who's on the laid back side and the ultimate best friend, I'm you're pup. If you're committed to helping me get over my fear of men and strangers in the home and willing to focus on maximizing my potential through positive reinforcement training, exercise and fun adventures...I'm your perfect companion. You will not find a more precious pup to steal your heart and create wonderful memories with!

Luv, Tripp

Photos by Amanda Murray Photography and Tripp's foster mom

Additional information: *Housetrained *Current on shots