Meet Tilly!

CLICK HERE to find out about our adoption policies.

CLICK HERE to apply.

Tilly

Breed: Golden Retriever
Age: 3 years
Gender:female
Weight: 45 lbs
Altered: Yes

Hang onto your heart as I'll steal it in an instant! Hi, I'm Tilly. I'm a love bug of a pup who wants nothing more than your affection once I know and trust you. I'm a 3 year old Golden Retriever who's learning the world for the first time and blossoming each day. I'm a petite girl at only 45 pounds. I'm super shy with strangers at first, but with time...I'm your best friend.

I was surrendered to AGN after living life with my sister, Maybelle, in an outside kennel. Maybelle is going through heartworm treatments, but I'm ready to find my forever family. I'm experiencing love, happiness and fun for the first time...and oh boy, am I having fun in my foster home!

Personality Traits: I'm sweet, happy and snuggly when I get to know you. You'll fall in love with me as long as you give me a chance because strangers are scary to me. I'm like two different dogs right now...I've become a normal, bouncy, cuddle bug who adores my humans and furry foster siblings in my foster home. Then there is the side of me that is shy, cowers down and scared of strangers, occasionally being spooked by random noises. With time and socialization, I'll build confidence and blossom. Right now, I'm learning how to be a dog...learning the joys of life inside with a family. I'm doing amazing and starting to really shine!

Status with People:I'm nervous and fearful of strangers at first, but warm up in time. If you just ignore me, I'll put on my brave britches and approach you. I just need to know that I can trust you and need someone to work with me on socialization with strangers. I love and cherish my family and am especially drawn to foster mom. I follow her every step and snuggle up with her every chance I get when I'm not playing with my furry foster brothers. I live with children in my foster home, but I don't play with them. Foster mom is my favorite.

Status with Dogs: Good with other dogs. Lived my entire life with my sister in a kennel and now have two furry foster brothers. I play with them a lot. I really enjoy playing with my young furry foster brother and consider him my best buddy.

Status with Cats: Cats unknown

Favorite Toys: I'm learning how to be a dog and am quite puppyish so everything is a toy for me right now. I'm typically a stuffy "murderer". I can rip the stuffing out quite fast so the Go Dog, Huggle Hound or Tuff brands are best for me. I also think socks, pillows and towels are toys so it's important to redirect me to my toys and praise me if I have something I shouldn't.

Energy Level: Moderate to high energy overall, but settle down nicely to snuggle on the couch with my foster mom and furry foster brothers.

House Trained:Yes, but I had to learn so a schedule is key. Training me to "poochie bells" would be a great benefit so I could give clear communication that I need to go out.

Crate Trained:Yes, but I need encouragement to go in it. Tossing a yummy treat in the crate is recommended. I sleep in my crate with an orthopedic bed in it at night in my foster parents' room. I like to be close to the family.

House Manners:PUPPY PROOF!!! Puppy proofing is key because I'm learning! Although I'm 3 years old, I'm a puppy at heart and learning inside living for the first time. I'm learning what's mine to play with and what I can chew on and should not chew on. It's your responsibility to guide and teach me with positive reinforcement. Right now, I think things that look like toys are toys...socks, towels, pillows, etc. I'm not destructive, just curious and learning. I'm totally a couch dog who loves to curl up in your lap, so if you don't want to snuggle up on your couch with me, I'm not for you.

Leash Manners:Scared of the leash right now so I'm going to need to keep practicing and getting lots of praise and treats. It will take time, patience and a commitment as I'll shut down in fear if you force me. I'd do best to walk with another dog companion to follow what they do.

Exercise:I play almost non-stop with my young furry foster brother. We run, wrestle and play. A tired pup is a good pup so significant daily exercise is important for me.

Car Rides: I'm a bit nervous at first and want to be as close to my humans as possible. I need fun and positive adventures in the car. Also, some yummy treats waiting for me in the backseat would be great to get me excited about the car.

Things I need in my forever home:
-Someone who understands I'm learning the world for the first time and is committed to working with me in a positive manner. Someone who understands that I'm quite the "normal" pup in the house with my family, but the world outside the home is still scary right now.
-Someone committed to focusing on my positive socialization. I need to associate the world with positive experiences. Someone who understands that I'm hesitant of strangers, sometimes new things and someone who will help me build confidence.
-Moderately active family that enjoys the outdoors, is committed to my daily exercise and socialization.
-Not too chaotic of a household where random people are not in and out often. I need a more stable environment with a daily routine so I'm not fearful of random strangers coming in and out.
- Someone who doesn't work, works from home or works part time is best as I'm still learning each day. I can't continue to progress unless someone has the time to work with me on a daily basis. I need the human interaction.
-Positive reinforcement obedience training classes would be beneficial. This will help us bond and build our relationship...and it's so much fun. Agility would be great for me as it would help build my confidence with new things. All training should be force free/positive or I will shut down.
-Children are fine, but I'd rather play with my dog friends that the children in the home. Children's toys should also be kept up as I will think they're mine right now.
-I must have an active and confident dog to serve as my mentor and playmate. One that will play with me and guide me. That is the quickest way for me to learn. I'm a follower and learn by watching other dogs. Another dog will help me build confidence. I've been with my sister my entire life so I need a dog companion.

I'm a young Golden who is as sweet as can be and blossoming each day. So, if you're committed to helping me get over my fear of strangers and willing to focus on maximizing my potential through positive reinforcement training, exercise and fun adventures...I'm your perfect companion. You will not find a more precious pup to steal your heart and create wonderful memories with!

Luv, Tilly

Photos by Amanda Murray Photography and Tilly's foster mom

Additional information: *Housetrained *Current on shots