Meet Tilla!

CLICK HERE to find out about our adoption policies.

CLICK HERE to apply.

Tilla

Breed: Golden Retriever (purebred)
Age: 5 years
Gender: male
Weight: 102 lbs
Altered: Yes

**NOTE: Tilla has a gorgeous, deep golden coat. Tilla was shaved by his owners before being surrendered. Golden Retrievers are double coated and should never be shaved down. The double coat protects them from heat and cold. It will take a while for his coat to grow back out, but it will be gorgeous when it does. We do have a photo of Tilla in full coat here in his past home....

Sweet, soulful, southern gentleman looking for a lifetime of love and kindness! I'll charm my way into your heart and light up your world with joy and happiness. I'm Tilla a 5 year old Golden Retriever that's a loveable teddy bear! My DOB is 12/12/2013. I'm a big bundle of love at 102 pounds. I could shed a approximately 10 pounds. I'm eating holistic kibble and exercising my way to my ideal weight.

I was surrendered to AGN because my family did not have enough time for me and I was having to live in the backyard. They had 5 children, ages 3-16, so they were just too busy to give me the love and attention I deserved. I’ve made a smooth transition to my foster home and everyone adores me. They say someone's going to "hit the jackpot" when they add me to their family as it doesn't get any better than me!

Personality Traits: : All around sweetheart who is the typical loving Golden; velcro shadow, gentle, moderate energy with bursts of occasional "puppyness"; adore being with my humans; want to please my humans and be loved; happy fella who loves life and offers unconditional love

Status with People: Friendly with all people and gentle with children; a little shy at first when meeting new people, but warm up quickly to be your best buddy; everyone that meets me falls head over heels in love with me because I'm just a "love muffin" with eyes that will melt your soul

Status with Dogs: I'm in foster with another male Golden my age and we get along great; I also had a playdate with a female dog recently...we got along beautifully and played a bit

Status with Cats: I have two cats in my foster home and have a bit too much interest in them; they are not impressed.

Favorite Toys: :Love stuffy toys, squeaky toys and balls, but will "murder" stuffies so the Go Dog and Huggle Hound brand are important for me; will retrieve a ball, but will not always drop; like to bring my toys to you so you'll play with me vs. me playing by myself.

Energy Level:Moderate energy inside and outside with bursts of happy/bouncy energy; I'm quite active and playful outside while playing fetch

House Trained:yes

Crate Trained:No, I have free roam in the house and do great

House Manners:Wonderful manners in the house and not destructive in any way (except for the occasional stuffy if I'm bored); occasionally get interested in something on the counter, but I'm easily to redirect to something positive

Storm Phobia: Very mild anxiety and may pace when I hear thunder; I do well if you comfort me

Leash Manners:: I'm learning to walk well on a leash and progressing daily; get excited to go on walks and pull a bit so my Walk Your Dog With Love harness is key when going on walks; It seems as if I never got to venture out on walks so I'm learning the world one walk at a time

Exercise:Love my daily walks and they're important for me; currently get one 30 minute walk or two 20 minute walks per day, but this can increase with time as the heat is not my friend; it's important to keep that in mind when choosing a time to walk

Car Rides:A little nervous in the car; whimper when the car is put in reverse, but will get the hang of it the more I go on rides and associate car rides with positive things; need a little help getting in so I would benefit from steps or a ramp that I can be trained to

Basic Commands:Sit, Come

Special Needs: Not comfortable with hardwood stairs so need a home where the master bedroom is on the main floor so I can sleep in the room with my family or a runner on the hardwood stairs

Things I need in my forever home:
-Moderately active family that likes to engage in daily exercise such as strolls through the neighborhood and park, leisurely hikes through the trails, etc.
-Someone who enjoys spending lots of time with their furbaby; As long as I get enough daily exercise, I'm a "hang out with you" kind of fella that loves to just chill out and watch movies with you, lie beside you when you read a book on the patio, hang out with you while you garden, nap at your feet while you work on your computer....and of course, play ball with you and have some fun in the beautiful outdoors
-Because I crave human affection, I'd prefer a home where you're not gone long hours; a working home is fine as long as you can be flexible and come home for lunch, etc.
- I need orthopedic dog beds to protect my joints and bring me comfort when I nap and sleep as I'm not one to get on the furniture.
-I would be fine as an only dog if you spend lots of time with me or good with another dog who matches my energy level
-Children would be just fine as I'm gentle and do not jump

So, if you're looking for a sweet, gentle, loving soul to make your family complete and you enjoy daily exercise, look no further! You'll wonder how you spent a day without me in your life because I'll bring you so much love and joy. I'm a precious Golden who wants nothing more in life that to be by your side, showing you unconditional love. I'm right here waiting to start our life's journey together.

Luv, Tilla

Photos by Amanda Murray Photography

Additional information: *Housetrained *Current on shots