Meet Tabitha!

CLICK HERE to find out about our adoption policies.

CLICK HERE to apply.

Tabitha

Breed: Golden Retriever (purebred)
Age: 7 years old
Gender: female
Weight: 65 lbs
Altered: Yes

Hi, my name is Tabitha. Charming, Sweet, Affectionate, Easy Going, Playful and Happy! I'm a total sweetheart that will change your world with my loving and gentle personality. I'm a 7 year old Golden Retriever. My DOB is 1/25/11. I weigh 65 pounds.

I was surrendered to AGN by a breeder who was moving out of state. I'm loving life with my foster family, but now ready to find my true forever family to make wonderful memories with. Someone is going to be blessed to add me to their family because I'm a wonderful Golden girl!

Personality Traits: I'm an absolute sweetheart who is the typical loving Golden, velcro shadow, gentle, laid back, easy going, and eager to please. Obedient to the point of being skittish which is evidence of harsh scolding in the past and hypersensitive to adult loud voices. I'm such a special Golden girl that will melt your heart! There's just a certain sweetness about me that will touch your soul.

Status with People:Great with all people and children, but leery of men until I know them. Friendly and sweet with everyone. Will immediately approach female strangers, but take caution with men strangers. Love my foster dad, but took me a good week or two to trust him. Ultimate velcro shadow who craves affection. Take every step my foster mom does. Great with children and gentle with them. Have an older child and two teenagers in my foster home.

Status with Dogs: Good with male dogs and enjoy playing with them, but breeder said "bossy" with female dogs . Have two male foster siblings and we do great together. I don't protect my toys, but I do set boundaries when my young Golden foster bother tries to take them from me. I give him a little growl to tell him the toy is mine. But if he's not taking my stuffy and initiates play, we LOVE to play tug together with it.

Status with Cats: Cats unknown. None in previous home or foster home.

Favorite Toys:I've discovered toys and guess what...I LOVE TOYS!!! I do have a confession to make...I "murder" my stuffies. Go Dog or Huggle Hound brand is recommended. I also like the ball and anything I find in the toy box. I don't know how to retrieve, but maybe you can teach me.

Energy Level:Moderate energy overall. I'm a "young" 7 year old and like to play with other dogs.

House Trained:Yes

Crate Trained: No, and I will break out of a crate. They freak me out! NEVER put me in one! Have free roam and do great.

House Manners:Wonderful manners in the house and not destructive in any way; HOWEVER, I am a "professional counter surfer" so do not leave out anything tempting on the counters as I can get creative. Sleep either in bed with my foster mom or on an orthopedic bed right next to her side of the bed as I want to be as close to my humans as possible.

Storm Phobia:Yes, I will pant, pace and hide in the bathroom that doesn't have windows until it's over. It takes me some time to decompress after the storms and then I'm a happy girl again. I'm not destructive, just a nervous girl because those storms are scary.

Leash Manners:: Good on leash with my Walk Your Dog With Love harness.

Exercise: I get consistent daily walks and lots of playtime with my furry foster brothers. Exercise is important for me, especially as I start to approach my senior years. It will keep me healthy.

Car Rides:Good in the car. Typically lie down in the back seat.

Things I need in my forever home:
-Moderately active family that enjoys daily walks, hikes, strolls through the neighborhood and park, etc.
-A gentle household where adults are NOT raising their voices. Fine with the noise of children playing as long as not excessive, but adults yelling or talking in loud, stern voices is terrifying for me. Seriously...no yelling from adults as I cannot take it!!!
-I'd be content as only dog soaking up all the love and attention or I'd do fine with another nice, male dog who'll play with me in a gentle manner
-A working home is fine as long as you have plenty of time to spend with me before and after work and are not gone long hours. I'd need a male dog companion if you work as I've never been an only dog and I would get lonely
-Children would be great as I do wonderfully with children
-Someone who only uses positive reinforcement training methods as I'm scared and shut down/hide with any type of correction or loud/stern adult voices

I'm a loving Golden that wants nothing more than to enjoy each day by your side. I'm a gentle, easy going love bug who's as sweet as it gets. I have so much unconditional love to give. I don't ask for much, just your love, kindness and devotion. I promise to bless your life with so much happiness and joy. Will you share your love with me? I will give you all of mine!

Luv, Tabitha

Photos by April Watson Photography and Tabitha's foster mom

Additional information: *Housetrained *Current on shots