Meet Sky!

CLICK HERE to find out about our adoption policies.

CLICK HERE to apply.

Sky

Breed: Golden Retriever (purebred)
Age: 7-8 years old
Gender:female
Weight: 74 lbs
Altered: Yes

SWEETNESS ALERT!!! Happy, super sweet, super loving, ball-loving, snuggle bug looking for a family to love! Hi, I'm Sky! If you enjoy the pitter patter of paws following you and enjoy a Golden who thinks they're a "lap dog", I'm your girl! I'm an approximately 7-8 year old Golden Retriever. I weigh 74 pounds. Every pound of me is pure love...and I'm as beautiful as my name!

I was surrendered to AGN because a family member became seriously ill. I was sad to lose my family, but I'm being treated like a queen in my foster home. I'm ready to start the next chapter of my life with my forever family. Could it be you?

Personality Traits: I'm the sweetest girl you could ever imagine who craves attention from my humans and loves to give you kisses. Ultimate cuddle bug! Calm, easy going girl most of the time, but have a streak of puppy energy that shows up every time the ball comes out. I'll chase the ball until I drop so you have to monitor how many times you throw it. Friendly to everyone and adore children. So loving!

Status with People:Good with all people and gentle with children. Meet everyone with a wagging tail and enthusiastic kisses. Have two human brothers that play and cuddle with me. Love it when they play fetch with me. I had two children in my previous home and slept in the bed with the 11 year old. Velcro shadow who craves affection from my humans. AGN was told I'm fearful of men, but no fear of men seen. Fine with my foster dad...he's very sweet to me. Love my humans so very much!

Status with Dogs:I choose humans over other dogs because I love my humans so much. Have two furry male foster brothers. Co-exist well and will even snuggle with one of them. Prefer that happy, bouncy dogs do not get in my face or take my toys from me and will correct gently with a subtle growl to say..."Hey, not nice of you". I do not share my toys if I'm playing with them, but have no issue with my furry siblings enjoying my toys otherwise. I don't know how to play with other dogs yet, but hang around my furry foster siblings just fine. We even sit side by side and take treats.

Status with Cats: Cats unknown, but I'm all about chasing the squirrels. With my ball drive and interest in critters, I'd probably chase cats.

Favorite Toys: LOVE BALLS!!! All balls, any ball, all day long! Tennis balls, squeaky balls, softballs, soccer balls...did I tell you that I LOVE BALLS!!! Do you like to play fetch because I like to play fetch! I also like frisbees and stuffy toys.

Energy Level: Moderate energy overall, with times of lower energy and bursts of puppy energy when playing ball. Laid back and mellow overall.

House Trained:Yes

Crate Trained: No, I have free roam in the house and do great. I nap and sleep on my orthopedic dog bed or the couch...yes, I'm a couch dog.

House Manners:Perfect Golden lady! Great manners in the house and not destructive

Storm Phobia:No

Leash Manners:Good on leash and not much pulling. Look back to check in along the walk.

Exercise:Daily ball throwing is a MUST! If you don't like to throw a ball for a ball-loving dog or don't have a backyard conducive to throwing a ball, then I'm not the right match for you. Also, daily walking is important for my overall health as I age. I show no signs of arthritis at this point, and a body in motion stays in motion! Rumor has it that I like to swim.

Car Rides: I'm good in the car. I just chill in the backseat and enjoy the ride.

Basic Commands: I know my name...also, sit, come, touch. I'm eager to please!

Things I need in my forever home:
-Moderately active family looking for the ultimate cuddly Golden that loves to play ball!
-A non-working or part-time working home is preferred. I'm used to someone being home with me most of the time in my foster home and previous home. AGN doesn't know how I would do being left more than 4 hours.
-I'd be fine, and likely prefer, to be an only dog so that I can soak up all the attention from my humans but would be fine with a male dog that is calm, doesn't get in my face and non-dominant
-I'd love a family with children that would play with me and let me sleep in the bed with them, but not required

I'm an affectionate, snuggly, kissy, ball-loving girl who wants nothing more than to enjoy each day making fun memories with my family. I'm an easy going sweetheart who still has some inner puppy to make you laugh. I'm here waiting for you if enjoy a Golden lap dog who's a velcro shadow. I enjoy life and have so much unconditional love to give. I don't ask for much, just your love, kindness, devotion...and balls! MUST have balls...lots of balls :-)

Luv, Sky

Photos by Amanda Murray Photography

Additional information: *Housetrained *Current on shots