Meet Sara!

CLICK HERE to find out about our adoption policies.

CLICK HERE to apply.

SARA

Breed:Golden Retriever (purebred)
Age: 9 years
Gender:female
Weight: 69lbs
Altered: Yes

Grace and beauty inside and out! Charming, Sweet, Easy Going and Happy! I'm the stunning Sara and I'll change your world with my loving and gentle personality. I'm a 9 year old Golden Retriever. My DOB is 12/29/07.

I was surrendered to AGN because I lived mostly outside and I wanted to be inside with my family. They recognized my increasing desire to be inside and asked AGN to find me a wonderful forever family. You know us Goldens....we are NOT outside dogs. We are the ultimate companion dogs and just want to be with our humans at all times. Now, I'm living the life of luxury lounging in the cool air condition of my foster home. I'm ready to find my "meant to be" family to create fantastic memories with.

Personality Traits: an all around sweetheart who is gentle, laid back, easy going and yet loves walks, swims and just being with her humans; friendly to everyone and always happy to make friends

Status with People: Loves all people and children

Status with Dogs: Good with other dogs although I'm the only dog in my foster home

Status with Cats: Good with cats according to previous owner

Favorite Toys: Loves stuffy toys and will retrieve a ball, but not overly excited about it

Energy Level: Lower energy inside with moderate energy outside

House Trained: Yes

Crate Trained: Yes but not needed and not used in my foster home; I have free roam in the house and do great; I sleep on my orthopedic dog bed in my foster parents room at night

House Manners: Wonderful manners in the house and not destructive in any way; doesn't bother a thing

Storm Phobia: Past owner states afraid of storms outside; NO storm phobia has been seen inside in my foster home; so I want to be safe and secure inside when it storms...who doesn't? I am fearful of sudden noises if outside such as gunshots and I HATE fireworks

Leash Manners: Good on leash with the Walk Your Dog With Love harness

Exercise: I don't like to take walks in the heat and it's not safe to do so; I've been taking my walks at night when it cools off; I also really like to swim; with me getting older the concept of "a body in motion stays in motion" needs to be embraced so I need to walk daily to maintain my good motion

Car Rides: Great in the car

Basic Commands: Sit, Down (Lie Down) and Shake

Things I need in my forever home:
-Low key family that likes to engage in gentle daily exercise such as strolls through the neighborhood and park, swimming and leisurely hikes through the trails
-Calm and quiet household because I'm a "hang out with you" kind of girl that loves to just chill out and watch movies with you, lie beside you when you read a book on the patio, nap next to you while you work on your computer, etc.
-A working home is fine as long as you have plenty of time to spend with me before and after work and are not gone long hours
-I'd be content as only dog soaking up all the love and attention or I'd do fine with another calm dog
-I need orthopedic dog beds to protect my joints and bring me comfort when I nap and sleep.
-Because I'm getting up into my "Golden years", I need a home with minimal stairs
-Older children would be just fine, but I'm not the age to run and play with children
-Townhome living would be acceptable for me if there are minimal stairs

I'm a loving and special Golden that wants nothing more than to enjoy each day by your side. I'm just a low-key and easy going sweetheart who is really as low maintenance as you can get. And I'm quite close to perfect. So I'm here waiting for you if you have extra love and attention that you can share. I so enjoy life and have so much unconditional love to give. I don't ask for much, just your love, kindness and devotion. I promise to bless your life with so much happiness and joy. Will you share your love with me? I will give you all of mine!

Luv, Sara

Photos by Tom Thompson thompsonfoto.com

Additional information: *Housetrained *Current on shots