Meet Poppy!

CLICK HERE to find out about our adoption policies.

CLICK HERE to apply.

Poppy

Breed: Golden Retriever mix
Age: 8 years old
Gender: female
Weight: 60lbs
Altered: Yes

Gentle, sweetheart who's easy going, laid back and loves her family! Hi, I'm the adorable and slightly shy Poppy. I'm an approximately 8 year old Golden mix. I weigh 60 pounds, but I need to lose about 10 pounds to be at my ideal weight. I look a little shabby right now due to past neglect, but I'm beautiful inside and soon will be stunning on the outside. I'm like a beautiful painting in progress.

I was surrendered to AGN after being abandoned in my backyard when my elderly owner became ill and no longer able to live in the home. I was neglected for quite a while. Myself and my furry companion (likely my sister) were so heartbroken and confused. We became eaten up with fleas that caused my coat to fall out on my hind end and tail. It's now growing back since I'm flea free. I'm like the Velveteen rabbit...a little worn and tattered. I'm not broken. I've just experienced more life. I'm now cherishing love and kindness in my foster home now and dreaming of the day that I can have a family of my own.

Personality Traits: I'm just as sweet and low maintenance as can be. I'm a "semi-velcro shadow"...follow you most of the time, but sometimes just chill out with my furry foster siblings. I'm not demanding for attention, but cherish every ounce of your affection. A bit reserved with new things. Gentle, calm, low maintenance and happy. Friendly with everyone and enjoy the simple things in life. Easy going, perfect companion to be by your side and cherish life together.

Status with People:I'm gentle and friendly with all people. Social and enjoy attention, but do not demand your attention.

Status with Dogs: Good with most other dogs, but prefer small dogs. I do not like bouncy, energetic dogs in my face or dogs barking in my face. It's overwhelming for me. Have four furry foster siblings and get along with all of them, but my best friends are the chihuahuas. We love to play together and play each day. Foster mom says we have a "party".

Status with Cats:Like to chase cats and squirrels.

Favorite Toys:I haven't quite figured out toys, but I'll chase the ball. I have a confession, though...I don't bring the ball back. Maybe you and I can work on that together.

Energy Level: Lower to moderate, easy going and laid back overall. I do like to run and play with my chihuahua friends and enjoy chasing the squirrels in the yard.

House Trained:Perfecting my housetraining as I got confused with all that has happened in my life recently. I'm doing great.

Crate Trained:I don't need a crate as I'm perfect in the house with free roam. I did not like the crate at all when foster mom tried it.

House Manners:Perfect lady with excellent house manners. Don't bother a thing. Enjoy orthopedic dogs beds.

Leash Manners:Excellent on leash with my Walk Your Dog With Love harness. I'm a good walking companion as I do not pull.

Exercise:Love my multiple daily walks. I walk about a mile each time. I also enjoy playtime in the backyard with my furry foster siblings and foster mom. I really enjoy the backyard with my family on a nice weather day.

Car Rides:Good and calm in the car.

Things I need in my forever home:
-Calm, laid back household to match my personality
-Someone that wants a gentle companion...a best friend to love on, read a book with on the patio on a beautiful day, have a furry friend to garden with and take leisurely strolls with
-I'd do best in a home where you're not gone long hours as I thrive on human interaction and my elderly owner was likely home with me. I've likely never been completely alone as I had my sister. A working home would be fine with a dog companion, but if an only dog I would need more time with my human.
-I would be good with another nice, calm dog who is small to medium in size. I really do great with small dogs.
-I would be fine as an only dog if you are home more often than not - I've always been with my dog sister
-I do not show signs of arthritis at this time, but I need minimal stairs in the home because I'm not a fan of steps. I've likely never experienced them until now so I'm learning what steps are about
-Someone who is patient and kind who will understand that I'm learning new things in life and just need lots of positive encouragement and love

So if you are looking for a sweet, gentle, calm, laid back girl to enjoy life with, I'm your perfect companion! I'm one of those dogs that settles into your life like I've always been a part of it and you can't imagine life without me. I have a heart full of love to share with you if you have lots of kindness and time to share with me! Let's make a lifetime of memories together!

Luv, Poppy

Photos by Elaine Sears Photography

Additional information: *Housetrained *Current on shots