Meet Penelope!

CLICK HERE to find out about our adoption policies.

CLICK HERE to apply.

PENELOPE

Breed: Golden Retriever (purebred)
Age: 3 years
Gender:female
Weight: 83lbs
Altered: Yes

**NOTE: Penelope was shaved down before surrender. She has a gorgeious coat growing back. Although people have good intentions, a dog with a double coat should never be shaved as it serves as insulation and protection for them.**

Get ready to fall head over heels in love! I'm Penelope and I'm the sweetest, goofy, happy, ball loving LOVE BUG that you'll ever meet! I'm wonderful beyond words! I'm an almost 3 year old Golden Retriever. My DOB is 10/17/14. I weigh 83 pounds and every ounce of me is fabulous, fantastic and fun...well, and the ultimate lover of balls, balls and more balls!

I was a gift to my owner as a puppy. Her job and living situation changed so she surrendered me to AGN so they could find me the wonderful forever family that I long for and deserve.

Personality Traits: ball loving sweetheart who is happy, loving, energetic outside while laid back inside and fun; super smart with major potential if training is maximized; super stable temperament with potential to be trained for therapy work to go into hospitals, nursing homes, etc.; social and friendly with everyone

Status with People: Loves all people and children; wonderful with children and lives with a pre-teen in foster home

Status with Dogs: Great with other dogs and neutral temperament; currently has two furry foster siblings who I love to lounge on the couch with; good with both genders and all sizes of dogs; peaceful and does not start conflict, but will correct an inappropriate dog in an appropriate way; I don't really play much with other dogs yet as I grew up as an only dog, but I'm all about hanging out with my furry friends and will probably learn to play in time

Status with Cats: Good with cats and even chickens; lived with a cat in previous home

Favorite Toys: LOVE LOVE LOVE playing fetch with tennis balls; I just carry balls around in my mouth (I don't typically drop my ball willingly so you'll have to work on that with me - trading for a treat is a good way to train "drop or give"); will play ball forever and you can take the ball right out of my mouth if needed; sometimes I drop my slobbery ball right in your lap; also love stuffy toys and tug toy, but not as much as my balls

Energy Level: Moderate energy; active outside with my furry foster siblings and human sibling, but will settle down for snuggles on the couch and am quite mellow for my age

House Trained: Yes

Crate Trained: Yes, but not crated in my foster home and have free roam of the house

House Manners: Good house manners; free roam and not destructive, but known to counter surf so just don't leave things out that tempt me to put my paws on the counter; likes to lounge on the couch and will often sleep there at night as my foster has a couch in their bedroom

Storm Phobia: No

Leash Manners: Good on leash for such a young age with the Walk Your Dog With Love harness

Exercise: Needs daily walks, hikes, etc. and definitely LOTS of ball playing; enjoys swimming and will retrieve the ball in the water

Car Rides: Great in the car and loves to go

Basic Commands: Sit, Off (to move off furniture) and Go Potty

Things I need in my forever home:
- Moderately active family that likes to exercise daily by taking lots of walks, hikes, swimming and fun outdoor adventures - I need a lot of ball playing time
- I'd be fine in a working home if you exercise me before and after work and preferably can let me out to potty at lunch; my foster mom works part time and I do great just hanging out with my furry foster siblings
- Positive reinforcement obedience training classes would be beneficial, but not required - This will help us bond and build our relationship and...It's so much fun!
- I have the potential to be trained for therapy work if someone is willing to commit to the training and get us certified together as a team - I'd excel at this as I'm so great with people and have such a great stable temperament
- I'd do fine with another dog to hang out with; I do well with all ages and genders
- I'd be fine as an only dog (I was an only dog until my foster family) as long as I have dog friends and you're willing to be my best buddy
- Someone willing to spend a lot of time playing ball with me - throwing the ball in the house, backyard and in a pool or lake
- Fence required so no condos or townhomes

So if you're looking for a great family dog who's got a fantastic temperament, LOVES to play ball and gets along with everyone, I'm your girl! I'm waiting for that special someone who'll maximize my potential and offer me unconditional love....and ENDLESS BALLS TO FETCH AND PLAY WITH! I'm a super duper girl and I'm waiting to be your best friend!

Luv, Penelope

Photos by Tom Thomson and Penelope's foster

Additional information: *Housetrained *Current on shots