Meet Pearl!

CLICK HERE to find out about our adoption policies.

CLICK HERE to apply.

Pearl

Breed: Golden Retriever (purebred)
Age: 4 years
Gender: female
Weight: 58 lbs
Altered: Yes

**PEARL HAS UNDERGONE BILATERAL CCL SURGERY (BOTH KNEES). SHE WILL BE MEDICALLY CLEARED FOR ADOPTION ON JUNE 2. PEARL WILL HAVE MINIMAL LIMITATIONS, BUT SPECIFIC REQUIRMENTS FOR HER FOREVER HOME. AGN WILL SPEND A TIME EDUCATING PEARL'S FOREVER FAMILY ON HER MEDICAL HISTORY AND NEEDS MOVING FORWARD. PLEASE READ PEARL'S BIO IN FULL**>

Beautiful young Golden lady, both inside and out! Sweet, loving, velcro shadow who cherishes her humans! DRUM ROLL PLEASE! You've followed my journey on Facebook; donated to my care; prayed for me and sent up positive energy for me. Now, here I am...the sweet and precious Pearl! I'm a 4 year old Golden Retriever. My DOB is 4/14/14. I weigh 58 pounds.

I was surrendered to AGN because I had torn both of my CCLs (ACL in humans) and needed surgery on both knees. My owners had purchased me to start a breeding program, but could not afford the surgery so they contacted AGN for help. AGN raised the funds needed, thanks to generous donors. I've successfully had surgery to repair both knees. I've healed and rehabilitated like a champ. I'm like a bionic Golden with new knees. I deserve all the good that life has to offer so I'm waiting on my forever family to start my next chapter in life...one of happiness, kindness and love!

Personality Traits: : I'm an absolute sweetheart who is adorable, loving, happy, eager to please. Friendly with everyone and love to lean into you. Enjoy meeting new friends and want to be where my humans are. Yes, I'm a "velcro shadow" Golden! I'm so loving, gentle and sweet with all people that I would likely be a great therapy dog to go into children's hospitals and nursing homes to bring comfort and joy. I bring happiness to everyone I meet.

Status with People: I'm social and love all people and children. I'm a "leaner" as I just want you to reach down and love on me.

Status with Dogs: I'm a dominant female and will be in charge of the dog "pack". I'm fine with all dogs outside of the home at meet and greet events, etc., but I'm the 'queen" in my household. I've lived with dogs in my previous home and foster home. I do best with male dogs my size and larger who are neutral in temperament. I would not do well in a home with female dogs. I need a home where I'm an only dog or a home where there is a medium to large male dog who is neutral and stable in temperament. I'm great buddies with my furry foster brother who is a 2 year old Golden, but he had to learn that I'm the boss. Now, we're the best of friends.

Status with Cats: Unknown

Favorite Toys: : I love all toys and balls, but really love stuffy toys! I must confess...I do murder my stuffy toys sometimes so the Go Dog and Huggle Hound brands are recommended.

Energy Level:Moderate energy overall

House Trained: Yes

Crate Trained:I used a crate for recovering after my surgery, but now have free roam in the house.

House Manners:I'm the perfect lady! Great house manners. Have free roam and not destructive (except for the occasional stuffy toy), sleep on an orthopedic dog bed in my foster parent's room.

Storm Phobia: No

Leash Manners: : Good on leash with my Walk Your Dog With Love harness. Steady walking is KEY for me to keep my knees healthy and flexible. I need to walk, walk, walk each day for the rest of my life.

Exercise:I'm building my stamina each day with exercise. I'm walking and swimming to build strength and endurance. I will continue to build stamina for the next 6 months. At that point, I'll basically be a normal 4 year old Golden with minimal limitations. I just need to avoid performance activities such as agility, fly ball, etc., but I can power walk, take gentle hikes, play ball (just not excessively) and definitely swim. I LOVE to swim! I have a pool at my foster home. I'll say it again... I need to walk, walk, walk each day for the rest of my life!

Car Rides:Great in the car and ready to go! Could benefit from stairs to enter and exit to protect my knees.

Basic Commands:Sit, Stay, Come, Paw (shake)

Special Needs: Bilateral CCL surgery. Healing and rehabilitation going great. Will continue to build stamina over the next 6 months. It takes a full 6 months post surgery to fully heal (I'm approximately 3 months away from that 6 month post op date). Need daily walks to continue strength building and will need daily walks for the rest of my life. No forced or aggressive exercise. No forced running or cutting quickly. No agility, fly ball, etc. I need consistent, moderate exercise each day. Power walking, swimming, gentle hiking, playing ball (just not excessively), etc. is fine for me. I can even take light jogs a mile or two a few times a week after my healing is complete. Will need glucosamine supplements for the rest of my life and the occasional anti-inflammatory if I get sore. AGN will fully educate my adopter on my medical history and needs moving forward. You don't have to treat me with kid gloves as I can run and play like a normal pup, but just be vigilant about my knees. I absolutely must NOT weigh more than my current weight of 58 pounds as this is critical for my knees long term. I must see a vet who is experienced in orthopedics every 6 months. My knees are solid and stable, but we just want to keep them that way.

Things I need in my forever home:
-Someone completely committed to the health of my knees through exercise, supplementation and protecting me from injury.
-Moderately active family that is dedicated to exercising daily by taking walks through the neighborhood, strolls in the park, walks on the beach and gentle hikes. I love the water and enjoy swimming in the pool of my foster family.
- I prefer someone who is home more often than not as that's what I'm used to and the environment that I thrive in. I would be fine in a working home IF AND ONLY IF I had another male dog companion to keep me company, but I would still need a lot of time committed to me. I've never been in a home where someone works 8-5 so part time work would be best if working away from home.
-Older children who are mature enough to play gently would be good as I really like children and am great with them. I have three older children in my foster home.
-I would be good as an only dog for you to devote all of your love and attention to me and I will definitely devote all of my love and attention to you.
-If another dog in the family, it needs to be a medium to large, male dog with a stable and neutral temperament. I'm a dominant female and will establish myself as the boss. Once I'm accepted as being in charge, then I can be best buddies with another dog.
-Because I have the potential to be trained and certified as a therapy dog, I would excel in positive reinforcement obedience classes. This is a great way for us to bond and the foundation of training for us to become a therapy dog team. My story of recovery would be an inspiration to others.

So if you are looking for a sweet, soulful, Golden girl who loves all humans and radiates with love and affection, I'm your girl! I'm just one of those special dogs that comes along once in a while that will touch your heart on levels that you didn't even know existed. My sweet, loving spirit will bless your life. I have a heart full of love to share with you! Will you share your heart with me?

Luv, Pearl

Photos by April Watson and Pearl's foster mom

Additional information: *Housetrained *Current on shots