Meet Marley!

CLICK HERE to find out about our adoption policies.

CLICK HERE to apply.

Marley

Breed: Golden Retriever (purebred)
Age: almost 1 year old
Gender: male
Weight: 67 lbs
Altered: Yes

Sweet, energetic, goofy, lovable, social butterfly who never meets a stranger...that's me, Marley! I'll charm my way right into your heart with my fabulous personality, silly puppy antics and bring you love and laughter. My DOB is 10/25/17 so I'm not quite a year old. I'm all puppy!!! I'm a male Golden Retriever who weighs 67 pounds and I'm one stunning pup. I'm full of joyful exuberance and just want to be your best friend, fun adventure companion and snuggle buddy!

I came to AGN after being surrendered to the shelter. My family didn't have time to invest in the training and exercise that I need. I'm having a blast with my foster family and now ready to start my life with my true forever family. I'm the total package so keep reading....

Personality Traits: Sweetheart of a pup who is loving, energetic , charming and fun; affectionate velcro shadow; super smart with major potential if training is maximized; social and friendly with everyone; eager to please; still puppy mouthy and jumpy sometimes; Beautiful temperament; And...SWEET! SWEET! SWEET!

Status with People:Loves all people and children; adores children, but too much of a high energy pup for young children; loves affection; joyful and excited to meet new people so sometimes jumpy in excitement (all part of being an older puppy) inside the home and great manners when meeting people outside of the home such as the ball park, Home Depot, etc.

Status with Dogs: Great with other dogs; love to run, play and wrestle with my furry foster sister, but she's wears out much quicker than me because she's 7 years old; neutral in temperament and share my toys nicely with my dog friends

Status with Cats: Cats unknown, but I'm all about chasing critters such as bunnies and squirrels; I almost pulled foster mom down when a bunny ran across out path while walking so I'd probably chase a cat

Favorite Toys:Everything and anything is a toy for me right now...so, puppy proof! Stuffy toys (really LOVE my stuffies), squeaky toys, balls, nylabones, elk antlers, Kongs...if it's a toy, it's my friend; I do "murder" stuffy toys sometimes so the Go Dog and Huggle Hound brands are recommended for me

Energy Level:High energy and in constant puppy motion; active and energetic outside with my furry foster siblings, but settle down nicely for snuggles when tired; I get a lot of exercise and without this high level of exercise and playtime, my energy level will increase

House Trained:Yes

Crate Trained: No; I hate a crate and will cry and bark for long periods of time; it's obvious I had a bad experience in a crate so this is not recommended for me; a baby gate would be a better option for me in a room that is puppy-proofed if you need to confine me while gone; sleep in the bedroom with my foster family at night and do fine with free roam during this time

House Manners:Puppy Proof!!! Still puppy mouthy and jumpy sometimes and like to chew on things if bored or not being watched; MUST get enough exercise to not become bored and destructive since an older puppy and energetic; still does silly puppy things such as chewing on shoes, purse straps and power cords (yikes!)...PUPPY PROOF! All part of being an older puppy as I'm still just a baby at heart! Just teach me in a positive manner as I'm eager to please.

Storm Phobia:None seen

Leash Manners:: Good on leash for such a young age and especially at public events, Home Depot, etc. When I see another dog, I do get really happy and I pull in excitement to meet the other dog (all dogs are my friend); my Walk Your Dog With Love harness is key to reduce my pulling in these situations

Exercise: Currently get 3 mile walk in the morning and 2 mile walk/jog in the evening plus lots of playtime with my dog friends; older pup with lots of energy so must get significant daily exercise and playtime

Car Rides:Good in the car and loves to go

Basic Commands:Sit, Come; eager to please, especially with yummy treats

Things I need in my forever home:
-Someone who wants and understands a high energy, older puppy and all the fun and frustration that comes with it
-Active family that likes to exercise daily by taking lots of power walks/runs, hikes, swimming and fun outdoor adventures; If you only walk 2-3 miles a day at a leisurely pace, I'm too much of an energetic puppy for you; I need a family that loves exercise and fun outdoor activities and wants a doggy companion by their side
-Someone who doesn't work, works from home or works part time as I'm used to my family being home with me and my furry sibling; I thrive in this environment because I'm young and active and need someone with the time to commit to my exercise and training
-Positive reinforcement obedience training classes REQUIRED - this will help us bond and build our relationship and it's so much fun
-Would do fine as an only dog if I get regular socialization and playtime with dog friends; great dog park dog - If an only dog, you will have to truly be my best friend and play with me A LOT!
-Would love to have another nice, active dog to run and play with who will share toys with me

So if you're active, enjoy exercise and are looking for a great companion who's an energetic older pup and everything that comes with it, you won't find a sweeter, more fun, charming and happy dog than me. I'm waiting for that special someone who'll maximize my potential and offer me unconditional love....and lots of toys to endlessly play with. I'm a silly, loving, joyful older puppy that will bless your life and keep you on your toes with all the fun we'll have! Just ask for me....Marley! When you look into my soulful eyes, you'll fall in love!

Luv, Marley

Photos by April Watson Photography and Tabitha's foster mom

Additional information: *Housetrained *Current on shots