Meet Lulu!

CLICK HERE to find out about our adoption policies.

CLICK HERE to apply.

LULU

Breed:Golden Retriever (purebred)
Age: 2 years
Gender:female
Weight: 66lbs
Altered: Yes

Sweet, happy, bouncy, playful, ball of puppy energy that is the ultimate social butterfly! Did I say that I'm a ball of puppy energy? I love the world and every human that exists in the world! My name is Lulu and I'm a super spectacular Golden girl that is Miss Personality Plus! I'm a 2 year old Golden Retriever, but I think I'm still a puppy. My DOB is 1/21/15. I weigh 66 pounds and every pound of me is full of love for YOU!

I was surrendered to AGN because my owners had young children and they did not have time to dedicate to training, which is important for every young Golden. I lived in the backyard and wanted to be inside with my family so I would try to escape the backyard to get to them. As we all know, Goldens do NOT do well being isolated from their humans since we are the ultimate companion dog. My owners wanted the best for me and knew that AGN would find me a wonderful family that would love and cuddle me non-stop. So, here I am being treated like a princess while I wait for my "meant to be family".

Personality Traits: absolute sweetheart who is loving, energetic and fun; super smart with major potential if training is maximized; love every human and most pups and assume that everyone wants to play with me; social and friendly with everyone...Did I tell you that I LOVE everyone I meet and want to play, play, cuddle and then play some more! I'm still quite puppyish for my 2 years of age and I love life!

Status with People: Love 'em!!! All of them! Children....they're just tiny humans and I LOVE 'em!!! But, as much as I love those tiny humans, I'll accidentally knock them down in my joyful exuberance as I jump in excitement

Status with Dogs: Love 'em!!! Great with other dogs and assume they all want to be my friend; I love to run and play with my furry friends non-stop; I happily slobber on every canine's ears..girls or boys, no gender discrimination; currently I have three furry foster siblings and they both love me and get annoyed with me; I can be pushy and like to bark and head-butt them in the side to get them to play, but I typically respect them when they tell me (with a nip or a growl) that they don’t want to play right now; I'm too rambunctious for small dogs or older dogs.

Status with Cats: Lived with a cat in my previous home and in my foster home; I do like to chase the cats for fun though...I mean, they run so that means they want to play, right?!? I do have quite a prey drive so if a critter runs, I'm going after it.

Favorite Toys: Love to chew on Nylabones and other hard toys (I’ll substitute shoes, a hat or your favorite flip-flops if I can’t find something suitable to chew on); like rubber balls and stuffed toys, but I can quickly take the squeakers and the stuffing out of them; Go Dog and Hugglehound stuffies are recommended for me as it will take me longer to "murder" them; I'll retrieve a ball, but I get bored and am ready to move on to the next fun thing in a short amount of time: I do think most things are for me to play with so "puppy-proofing" is key

Energy Level: High energy; active and energetic outside with my furry foster siblings, but will settle down for love and affection if I'd had enough exercise...my definition of exercise is A LOT of exercise!

House Trained: Yes

Crate Trained: My foster family does not crate me as they are home with me most of the time; HOWEVER, AGN recommends that you crate me or baby gate me if you're not home and not able to supervise me as I'm still quite puppyish and might chew on your shoes, etc.; typically just lie down and take a nap while my foster family is briefly away from home, but you never know when I might get a wild puppy hair and chew on something

House Manners: Good house manners overall, but puppy proofing is important; has free roam and not destructive, but must get enough exercise to not become destructive since older puppy and energetic; while I will chew on shoes, socks, pillows and other things that are left within reach, I’m really not destructive regarding furniture and such...again, puppy proofing is key!

Storm Phobia: Yes, but mild - a bit anxious during a storm, so I pant and pace; a Thunder Shirt helps, but I’m still a little nervous during the storm and for an hour or so afterwards

Leash Manners: Good on leash with the Walk Your Dog With Love harness, but still will pull a bit, especially if I see water. I LOVE LOVE LOVE to swim! LOVE HUMANS! LOVE DOGS! LOVE TO SWIM! LOVE LIFE!

Exercise: Older pup with high energy so must get significant daily exercise with walks/runs, hikes, playing ball etc.; needs lots of time to run and play with dog friends; gets non-stop exercise in foster home playing with furry foster siblings; LOVES to swim and run like the wind

Car Rides: Love to ride in the car; typically content to stay in my seat, though I sometimes stick my head up between the seats to visit with the humans

Basic Commands: Sit, Lie Down, and Shake; **CAUTION: I really like to rush through any open door, so I’m working on Wait and Stay!

Things I need in my forever home:
- Active family that likes to exercise daily by taking lots of walks, hikes, swimming and fun outdoor adventures - I need lots and lots of exercise and playtime
- Someone who doesn't work, works from home or works part time as I'm used to my family being home with me and my furry siblings a lot; I thrive in this environment because I'm young and active and need someone with the time to commit to my exercise and training
- Positive reinforcement obedience training classes - this will help us bond and build our relationship and it so much fun
- Older children would be good to play with, BUT I do jump in excitement so I will knock children down - don't get angry with me, train me with positive reinforcement by turning your back when I jump and rewarding me when my paws hit the floor; jumping in excitement is just part of being a young Golden
- I must have a young, active dog that will play with me as I love to play with other dogs and it helps burn off some of my energy, small or older dogs are not appropriate for me as I like to play a lot and in a rambunctious manner
- Fence required - no townhomes as I need a yard where you can go out a throw the ball with me multiple times per day, along with playing with my doggy friends where we can run and romp

So if you're up for all my puppy energy and looking for a great family dog who adores everyone; loves to play with other dogs; who's a truly active older pup and everything that comes with it, you won't find a sweeter more fun, happy dog than me. I'm waiting for that special someone who'll maximize my potential and offer me unconditional love as we celebrate life together. I'm the definition of an "energetic, playful, social butterfly" so make sure you're up for all this fun that I enjoy. Life is just a big ole happy experience to me and everything is something to enjoy. Let's enjoy life together and make some awesome memories!

Luv, Lulu

Photos by Elaine Sears Photography

Additional information: *Housetrained *Current on shots