Meet Lily!

CLICK HERE to find out about our adoption policies.

CLICK HERE to apply.

Lily

Breed: English Cream Golden Retriever (purebred)
Age: 5 years old
Gender: female
Weight: 98 lbs
Altered: Yes

GORGEOUS, SWEET, LOVING, PLAYFUL, SOCIAL BUTTERFLY! I'm Lily and I'm as beautiful as the flower I'm named after. I'm a 5 year old English Cream Golden Retriever. My DOB is 12/25/12...yes, I'm a Christmas puppy so get ready to celebrate on Christmas day. I'm a big girl at 98 pounds. I could lose a little weight to get to my ideal weight, but I'm just a big boned, big headed Golden in structure. There's just more of me to love and every pound of me will love you back! I radiate with sweetness and love!

I was surrendered to AGN by a kind woman who rescued me from my owners. They were going on vacation overseas and were headed to the shelter with me. She couldn't bare for that to happen so she took me in and contacted AGN for help. I'm enjoying life with my foster family, but it's time for me to find my forever home so I can celebrate my 6th birthday with my "meant to be" family.

Personality Traits: Absolute sweetheart who is adorable, loving, easy going , playful and eager to please. Social and friendly with everyone. Enjoys and seeks out affection. Typical Golden "velcro shadow". I tend to get along with everyone and everything.

Status with People:Loves all people and children. Social butterfly who never meets a stranger. Lived with children ages 7 and 13 in my previous home.

Status with Dogs:Good with other dogs and likes to run and play. Leans toward the passive side with other dogs. Has two furry foster siblings, a 1 year old male Golden mix and 13 year old female Golden. Enjoy playing with the 1 year old and respectful of the 13 year old.

Status with Cats: Curious, but fine with the cat in my foster home. Typically just ignore the cat as I'm a bit shy with her.

Favorite Toys:I love toys! Rope toys, stuffy toys, balls, nylabones are some of my favorite.

Energy Level: Moderate energy overall with bursts of higher energy when playing with my young furry foster sibling. I can keep up with his silly puppy antics and we have a blast. I also settle down nicely after exercise.

House Trained:Yes

Crate Trained: Yes, but I'm not a fan of my crate and will chew on my orthopedic crate bed if I get bored. I need a K9 Ballistics orthopedic crate pad (k9ballistics.com) if you are going to crate me. It's for crate bed chewers, but still comfy to protect my joints. I have free roam of the house when foster mom is home without issue so it's up to you whether or not you crate me.

House Manners:Great house manners. Not destructive. No counter surfing, but temptations should not be left within my reach because I'm bigger than the average Golden.

Storm Phobia:None seen

Leash Manners::I'm learning how to walk on a leash and doing great on my Walk Your Dog With Love harness. I crisscross a bit to sniff, but it's just so exciting to smell everything. Since I'm so social, I want to meet everyone and every dog while on a walk. I'm really doing great and making progress each day.

Exercise: Daily walks once or twice a day are important for me, plus playtime with my dog friends. I'm energetic and need consistent, daily exercise to be happy.

Car Rides:Good in the car and settle nicely in the backseat.

Basic Commands: Sit, Come

Things I need in my forever home:
-Moderately active family that likes to exercise daily by taking walks through the neighborhood, strolls in the park and hikes. I might even like to swim, but AGN cannot confirm.
-A non-working or part-time working home is preferred, but a working home would be fine if I have a dog companion so I'm not alone. A working home will be considered as long as you have plenty of time to spend with me before and after work and are not gone long hours.
-Children would be great, but they should be a bit older as I'm a big girl. I do love children!
-I'd enjoy a dog companion that will run and play with me
-I'd be fine as an only dog if you are home with me most of the time and get me lots of socialization and regular playtime with dog friends. I really enjoy other dogs so this need must be met. Although I haven't been to the dog park while with my foster family, I'd probably be a good dog park dog.

So if you are looking for a sweet, playful, loving Golden who loves everyone, I'm your girl! I'm a charming and fun Golden who'll make every day happy and bright. I have a heart full of love to share with you! Let's make a lifetime of memories together!

Luv, Lily

Photos by Elaine Sears Photography and Lily's foster mom

Additional information: *Housetrained *Current on shots