Meet Harry!

CLICK HERE to find out about our adoption policies.

CLICK HERE to apply.

Harry

Breed: Golden Retriever (purebred)
Age: 2 years old
Gender: male
Weight: 75lbs
Altered: Yes

FUN FURRY FRIEND ALERT! Are you looking for a true best furry friend...the ultimate "velcro shadow" to enjoy life with? You found me! Hi, I'm the handsome Harry. I'm an approximately 2 year old Golden Retriever. I weigh 75 pounds and could put on a few pounds as I'm really lean. Every pound of me is a happy, social, playful sweetheart!

I come to AGN with a sad past as I spent the first 18 months of my life living isolated on a chain in a mud pit. I was given to a family with young children and the loud, active environment was too much for me. The children were overwhelming for me and created anxiety. They surrendered me to AGN so that I could find a family that is appropriate for my background and needs. Now, I'm learning the world for the first time and enjoying life with my foster family. I'm ready to find my "meant to be" family to love!

Personality Traits: : I'm one awesome pup! Sweetheart who is loving, energetic , social, happy and fun. Love my humans and crave their affection. Learning new things each day and always up for a fun adventure, especially if it involves swimming. I love to swim! My Golden temperament is really starting to shine! And oh boy...you should hear me "talk". I'm hilarious! My happy howl brings everyone to laughter when I get "talky" while playing, taking to you, etc. I also like to bark in my yard to let the world know I'm around. I'm a dog...we bark!

Status with People:I'm social, happy and friendly with everyone. Young children can sometimes be too much for me based on previous negative experience with young children.

Status with Dogs: Good with dogs. Live with 3 furry foster siblings, both male and female, who range from medium to large in size. I enjoy playing with my furry foster brother who's larger than me. We play tug with toys and wrestle. I co-exist well with my senior foster siblings, but we don't play. I do best with dogs who are neutral in temperament...not too dominant and not too submissive. I'm probably not the best choice to play with a small dog as I'm quite active. I'd be a good dog park dog as I really enjoy running and playing with other dogs. I recently went to a dog swimming party and had a blast!

Status with Cats: Past owners said I'm fine with cats, but AGN cannot confirm.

Favorite Toys:: I've learned to play with toys and I LOVE them! Stuffy toys, squeaky toys and balls are my favorite. I've even learned to chase the ball and I'm starting to bring it back. I'm so happy and proud when I'm chasing my ball. I like to play tug with my toys with my furry foster siblings. See how funny we are in the video below....

Energy Level:Moderate to high energy overall. Active and energetic with my furry foster sibling, but settle down when tired. I get a lot of exercise and without this high level of exercise and playtime, my energy level will increase. I pace and become anxious with pent up energy so getting enough exercise is key for my well being.

House Trained:yes

Crate Trained:Yes, but not used in my foster home. Have free roam with the other dogs. Sleep in the bedroom with my foster parents and other dogs at night.

House Manners:My house manners are good, especially for my age. I'm not destructive and I do not counter surf. I'm a good boy! Impressive, right?

Storm Phobia: No

Leash Manners:: I'm learning to walk on a leash and doing great. I zig-zag a bit, but don't pull. My Walk Your Dog With Love harness is key to keep me from pulling.

Exercise:Young Golden with lots of energy so must get significant daily exercise and playtime. I get at least two walks per day at 1 and 1/2 miles each time (3 miles daily minimum). I also play with my furry foster brother a lot. We love to run and wrestle. I LOVE to swim! I'd also be a great running partner and have the build for it.

Car Rides:Good in the car and love to go. Enjoy putting my head out of the window. I share window time nicely with my furry foster siblings.

Basic Commands:Sit, Uh-Uh, Off, working on Down (Lie Down)

Things I need in my forever home:
-Someone who understands my background and is committed to meeting my needs through continued socialization, positive training and lots of exercise
-Someone looking for a true dog companion to be their best furry friend as I want to be with my people as much as possible
-Need a home that is more on the calm side. I do not do well in a chaotic, loud environment
-Active family that likes to exercise daily by taking lots of walks, hikes, swimming and fun outdoor adventures. If you only walk 2 miles a day at a leisurely pace, I'm too much of an active dog for you. I need someone that loves exercise and fun outdoor activities and wants a doggy companion by their side
-Someone who doesn't work, works from home or works part time as I've lived almost my entire life isolated on a chain until now. I'm used to my foster dad being home with me and my furry siblings. I thrive in this environment because I'm young, active and need someone with the time to commit to my socialization, exercise and training
-Positive reinforcement obedience training classes REQUIRED - this will help us bond and build our relationship and it's so much fun
-Would do fine as an only dog if I get regular socialization and playtime with dog friends. If an only dog, you will have to truly be my best friend and play with me A LOT!
-Would do fine with a medium/large dog who is neutral in temperament and will play with me and accept my need for attention from my humans.
-No children under 10 years old due to my negative experience with children in the past.

So if you're looking for your furry BFF to spend your days with, you won't find a sweeter, more happy and fun dog than me. I'm blossoming each day and stealing the hearts of all those who know me. I'm waiting for that special someone who'll maximize my potential and offer me unconditional love....and lots of toys to endlessly play with. When you look into my soulful eyes, you'll fall in love! Can you see it? Can you see our happy and fun life together...I dream of it and am waiting for YOU!

Luv, Harry

Photos by Susan Peck Photography

Additional information: *Housetrained *Current on shots