Meet Gus!

CLICK HERE to find out about our adoption policies.

CLICK HERE to apply.

Gus

Breed: Labrador Retriever (purebred)
Age: 1 years old
Gender:male
Weight: 55 lbs
Altered: Yes

Happy, adorable, playful, social butterfly who'll take every step with you! Hi, I'm Gus, but I should be named "Smiley" because I love to show you my pearly whites. I radiate with happiness! I'm an approximately 1 year old purebred Labrador Retriever who'll smile my way into your heart. I weigh 55 pounds right now, but I'm still young so likely to fill out a bit.

I was surrendered to the shelter because my owners work schedule did not allow enough time for me. I hit the jackpot when AGN volunteers came to rescue me. Now, I'm having a blast with my foster family, playing with two young dogs and getting lots of love. It's time for me to find my forever family to share life's journey with. To know me is to love me!

Personality Traits: I'm a sweetheart of a pup who is enjoys affection and has mastered being a" velcro shadow". I'm silly, social, energetic and fun...also a bit laid back if I get enough exercise. Super smart with major potential if training is maximized. Social and friendly with everyone. Energetic, but not hyperactive. Typical happy, friendly Labrador Retriever.

Status with People: I'm a social butterfly...never meet a stranger. Cherish attention and affection from all humans. Curl up next to my humans on the couch or at their feet. SWEET! SWEET! SWEET!

Status with Dogs: I'm GREAT with other dogs and love to play or snooze with them. Have two young Goldens as furry foster siblings, male and female. Great with both genders. Neutral in temperament. Good at matching each dog's energy level and play style. We love to play with our toys, run and wrestle. I share toys perfectly with them.

Status with Cats: Cats unknown

Favorite Toys: I LOVE toys! I enjoy playing with my squeaky toys the best. It's fun to hear them squeak. I also like to play ball. I'm learning to bring it back. I'm a fun fella so if it's a toy, it's my friend!

Energy Level: I'm a typical playful, energetic older puppy. Active and energetic outside...running, romping and playing with my Golden foster siblings. We play in the house also, but settle down nicely when tired. I get a lot of exercise as I'm running and playing most of the time with my best furry friends. I'm good at matching the energy of whichever furry foster sibling I'm playing with. I can be high energy or take it down a level.

House Trained: Yes, but I had a few accidents at first because everything was new and I'm still learning. I'm young and need to be on a schedule. You also must pay attention because I go to the door. AGN recommends that you train me to "Poochie Bells" as this allows me to give you clear communication by ringing the bells when I need to potty.

Crate Trained: Yes. Not a fan of my crate as I'd rather go where you're going, but I go in nicely for a treat. I'll bark for a moment, but then settle down. I'm in a crate when my foster family is away since I'm still a puppy. I do have potential to be out of my crate soon if I get enough exercise. I do great having free roam while my foster family is home.

House Manners:I have great house manners for a pup my age. I haven't bothered anything so far, but PUPPY PROOF anyway! I'm a 1 year old puppy so do not expect me to not chew on things if given the opportunity or bored. Toys, playtime and dog friends are key. A tired pup is a good pup!

Storm Phobia: None Seen

Leash Manners:Great for such a young age with my Walk Your Dog With Love harness. Slight pulling if something smells wonderful, but I keep walking once you give me time to investigate. Like to be next to you on walks. I'll look back at you and just smile!

Exercise:Active pup so must get significant daily exercise and playtime... power walking/jogging, hiking, swimming, etc. Running and playing with other dogs is important for me to meet my social and exercise needs. I'm a great dog park dog.

Car Rides: I'm SO GOOD in the car. Sit and watch the cars go by or lay down. Every now and then I'll come and lick your ear to tell you that you’re doing a good job driving. I'm that perfect dog to take on errands or a road trip.

Basic Commands:Sit, Wait

Things I need in my forever home:
-Active family that likes to exercise daily by taking lots of walks/runs, hikes and fun outdoor adventures
-I'm young and active and need someone with the time to commit to my exercise and training. Someone who doesn't work, works from home or works part time OR someone who will take me to doggy daycare or who is in out to exercise me during the day.
-Positive reinforcement obedience training classes are REQUIRED as I'm still learning. I have so much potential and am so smart. This will help us bond and build our relationship and it's so much fun.
-I'd highly prefer a dog companion that will play with me, share toys and snuggle as I love to run and play with other dogs
-I'd be fine in a home without another dog if I get to socialize with other active dogs on a regular basis and get lots of exercise. I enjoy the dog park. My energy is going to increase for my human if I don't have another dog to play with in the home. Are you up for it?
-I'd be good with children, but they should be sturdy on their feet since I'm a happy, bouncy puppy

So, if you are looking for a sweet, happy and fun older puppy who has a great temperament and craves affection, I'm your pup! Remember...I'm an older puppy and everything that comes with that. I require lots of exercise and positive training. I just ooze with sweetness and love and I have all of that unconditional love just waiting for YOU! I'm a special pup who has touched the hearts of everyone who meets me. My precious face and sweet personality will bring joy and laughter to your life each day.

Luv, Gus

Photos by Gus' foster mom

Additional information: *Housetrained *Current on shots