Meet Goldie!

CLICK HERE to find out about our adoption policies.

CLICK HERE to apply.

Goldie

Breed: Golden Retriever (purebred)
Age: 7-8 years old
Gender:female
Weight: 68 lbs
Altered: Yes

GORGEOUS GOLDIE ...super sweet, happy, playful, velcro shadow who wants nothing more than to enjoy life with you! Hi...I'm Goldie. I'm a stunning 7-8 year old, female Golden Retriever. I act quite young for my age so get ready for fun as I'm a playful girl who will keep you on your toes. I weigh 68 pounds.

I was surrendered to AGN because my elderly owners could not care for me. I lived outside my entire life so I'm cherishing every moment of inside living. I'm still learning new things. Because of isolation in an outside pen, I've developed some anxiety/OCD that is successfully managed with an anti-anxiety medication. With that medication (Prozac 30 mg a day), I have minimal anxiety. I'm doing fantastic in my foster home, but it's time for me to find my true forever family who will understand what I've been through and commit to meeting my needs. If you do that, you won't find a more wonderful sweetheart than me!

Personality Traits: I'm such a sweet girl...happy, playful, loving, energetic, but also will settle down nicely with my stuffy toys or close to you. Polite and friendly with everyone. I cherish my humans and want nothing more than to be where you are. The pitter patter of my paws will take every step you do. Although I have anxiety/OCD, it is managed and controlled with 30 mg of Prozac daily. Just like people, dogs often need a little medication help to live life to the fullest. I'm a normal dog on my medication so it's important for me right now. I didn't know how to accept love at first, but now I'm the sweetest girl who enjoys affection...especially a good belly rub. I even give Golden kisses.

Status with People: I'm sweet and friendly with all people and children. I live with two older children and adore them. I love to play Chase with my 11 year old human foster brother.

Status with Dogs: I've been completely void of canine companionship or interactions with other dogs my entire life other than when a tiny puppy. I've just begun to meet dogs and learn their communication. I'm quite tentative of them so will growl at first. I can co-exist with them, but it takes slow introductions and time to build trust. Because of this, I prefer to be an only dog to thrive. I love and adore all humans, but I'm just not a dog that is comfortable with other dogs right away.

Status with Cats: Cats unknown

Favorite Toys: If it's a toy, it's my friend. My favorite is my ball and I love to play fetch. I adore stuffy toys and do not tear them up. I carry them around, nap with them and bring them to you to play fetch. I also love my knotted rope toy. Did I tell you that I LOVE toys and balls!

Energy Level: I have moderate energy overall. I love to play or follow my foster mom around the house during the day. I have a lower energy level at night. Usually when the sun goes down I'm happy with lounging on my orthopedic bed in the living room with my stuffy or laying by my foster family.

House Trained: Yes, but I had to learn as I was an outdoor dog before coming to AGN so I've had a few accidents here and there.. I'm learning to ring my "Doggie Doorbell" (Poochie Bells) when I need to go outside so I can provide you clear communication as to when I need to go out and potty. I need to be on a schedule for potty and go out often until I get acclimated in my new home.

Crate Trained: Yes. I will go into the crate with no problem when told to “get in your bed”

House Manners:I have good house manners. I'm not destructive, but I will counter surf occasionally so keep those temptations out of my reach. Sleep on an orthopedic dog bed in my foster parent's room.G

Noise Phobia: I have shown no storm phobia in my foster home, but my previous owners reported fear of thunderstorms and fireworks. I do get startled by some household noises such as the vacuum, etc. AGN recommends that I not be outside unattended at any point during rain/storms or the potential for fireworks. Occasionally, I'll react to reflections or shadows. I'll give a little growl and then move on.

Leash Manners:I do well on leash with my Walk Your Dog With Love harness.

Exercise: I enjoy daily walks. I have a blast playing chase with my human foster brother in the yard. I love playing with my ball outside and toys indoors. My foster family will throw a toy and I'll go get it and want them to throw it again and again!

Car Rides: Great, I LOVE to “Go” for a car ride. I have learned the school schedule of my little humans and go to the garage door when it is time to leave. I enjoy looking out the window and will lay down in the backseat.

Basic Commands:The basic commands of "sit", "come", "no" and I'm still learning, but respond well to "off" (I jump up to greet you sometimes in my excitement). Also working on "down" (lie down).

Special Needs:Yes, I am on Throxine twice daily for my thyroid and Fluoxetine (Prozac) once daily to control my anxiety/OCD. I'm well managed on both of these medications.

Things I need in my forever home:
-Experienced dog owner who understands my past and is fully committed to maintaining the protocols used to manage my anxiety...medication, socialization, exercise, positive training, confidence building.
-Moderately active family that likes to exercise daily by taking walks through the neighborhood, strolls in the park and hikes. Mental stimulation through dog puzzles would also be great for me.
-I've been void of human interaction for most of my life. Due to that fact and my anxiety (although well controlled), I need someone who is home more often than not.
-I prefer to be an only dog as I've lived my entire life that way. I can co-exist with other dogs, but introductions should be slow. I mostly will ignore other dogs once I get to know them.
- I would do fine with townhome living IF there is somewhere a ball can be thrown for me on a daily basis. I need more exercise than the normal 7-8 year old Golden so daily exercise and ball throwing is important for me.

I come with some baggage, but that makes me special. It means that I've experienced more life than most dogs my age. I'm a work in progress and I'm willing to take on life's journey with you by my side to guide me. I have so much love to give and am the ultimate companion. I just need a family that understands what I've been through and is willing to put the time, patience and commitment into progressing me forward. I'm ready to create great memories with my new family. So, take a chance on me because I'm worth it!

Luv, Goldie

Photos by Susan Peck Photography

Additional information: *Housetrained *Current on shots