Meet Emmett!

CLICK HERE to find out about our adoption policies.

CLICK HERE to apply.

Emmett

Breed: Golden Retriever (purebred)
Age: 9 years
Gender: male
Weight: 110lbs
Altered: Yes

Big ole loveable teddy bear of a Golden! Super duper sweet and loving fella who will brighten your world each day! I'm Emmett and I'm the southern gentleman you've been waiting for in your life. I'm an approximately 9 year old Golden Retriever. I'm a big, ball-loving, beautiful, bundle of love at 110 pounds. I could stand to be less "fluffy" by about 10 pounds. I'm a charming gentle giant who loves to give Golden kisses.

I was surrendered to a shelter due severe double ear infections that were causing me lots of pain, along with other signs of neglect. AGN came to rescue me and rushed me to the vet. It took a while to get my ears healthy. Now they are healed and my hearing has not been affected. I'm living the good life and just waiting on my forever family to fall in love with me when they see my sweet "sugar face". I know I'm special because the beautiful white on my face is in the shape of a heart.

Personality Traits: : I'm an all around sweetheart who is the typical loving Golden. Velcro shadow, gentle, laid back, moderate to low energy with bursts of occasional "puppyness". Adore being with my humans. Crave affection. Adorable with my "talking" and "nose nudges". Happy fella who enjoys life and offers unconditional love.

Status with People:I'm friendly with all people and good with children. Just remember I'm a big boy so could accidently knock over small children if I bumped into them. Everyone that meets me falls head over heels in love with me because I'm just a "love muffin" with a "sugar face' that will melt your soul.

Status with Dogs:I'm a confident male who will be the leader dog with any other dog I live with. I have two Golden foster sisters. It took a while for me and the dominant female to come to an agreement, but I've now established myself as the lead dog over time. We had some "squabbles", but never fights. We all co-exist well, but don't really play.

Status with Cats: I'm good with cats and live with them, but occasionally chase them and the chickens at my foster home.

Favorite Toys:: I LOVE balls!!! I'll play with anything from a tennis ball to a soccer ball in pure happiness. I'm a good soccer player :-) Sometimes I'll roll the ball under the couch and then start whimpering so you will get it for me. When you get it out, it's not long before it happens again...it's a fun game :-) Love stuffy toys, squeaky toys and nylabones. I do take toys away from my furry foster sisters and they don't care for that so foster mom supervises. I enjoy toys so much that sometimes I just stare at the toy basket and whimper at them. Foster mom tells me it's "okay" to get one so I pick a favorite and play.

Energy Level:Moderate to Lower energy overall

House Trained:Yes

Crate Trained:No, I have free roam in the house and do great.

House Manners:I have wonderful manners in the house and not destructive in any way. I'm a lounge on the couch kind of fella. I love to nap and sleep on the couches at night.

Leash Manners: I was terrified of the leash in the beginning and still cower a bit when it comes out, but making tremendous progress. You have to get me excited with happy talk and treats. I walk well on the leash and do not pull. It's just the initial seeing the leash that's a bit scary (I likely lived on a chain). Once the leash is on, I'm ready to go. Obviously, there is a scary past with tethering that I now need to associate with happy things. I still need lots of positive reinforcement with the leash. I'm a laid back walker and just mosey along.

Exercise:Love my daily walks and they're important for me. Currently get three 1 mile walks per day, plus fun time outside with my foster family on the farm.

Car Rides:I'm good in the car, but need a little help getting in so I would benefit from steps or a ramp that I can be trained to

Basic Commands:Sit, Paw, Down (Lie Down)

Special Needs: I likely lived on a chain. I was neglected which is evident by my nails, ears and ground down teeth. My nail beds are long since my nails were never trimmed so it's a process to shorten them over time. Consistent nail trims are important for me. My teeth show I've likely tried to chew off a chain, but I eat fine. I've got some mild arthritis so I'm on a glucosamine supplement (Synovi chews). I'm a little challenged with hardwoods so a home with area rugs or carpet is best. Can do stairs, but not hardwood stairs. Minimal stairs are advised as I age, so need a home where the master bedroom is on the main floor so I can sleep in the room with my family.

Things I need in my forever home:
-Low key and moderately active family that likes to engage in daily exercise such as strolls through the neighborhood and park, leisurely hikes through the trails, etc.
-Someone who enjoys spending lots of time with their furbaby. I'm a "hang out with you" kind of fella that loves to just chill out and watch movies with you, lie beside you when you read a book, hang out with you while you garden, nap on the couch while you work on your computer....and of course, play ball with you and have some fun in the beautiful outdoors
-Because I crave human affection, I'd prefer a home where you're not gone long hours; a working home is fine as long as you can be flexible and come home for lunch, etc. My foster mom is home with me. She leaves me and foster sisters for about 4 hours sometimes and I do fine.
-My family must be okay with me hanging out on the couch as it's my comfy spot to nap and sleep
-I "talk" often to communicate with you and others. That means I bark and whimper. If you do not enjoy a vocal dog, then I'm NOT your Golden. I am vocal :-)
-I would enjoy and likely prefer being an only dog if you spend lots of time with me because I cherish your attention and am the ultimate velcro shadow. I'd be okay with another female dog that is not dominant as I will be in charge, but the dog would need to match my energy level and be okay with me being the lead dog
-Older children would be just fine as I'm gentle...just big
-A townhome is acceptable if you are an avid walker and plan to get me consistent daily exercise

So, if you're looking for a sweet, gentle, loving soul to make your family complete; you enjoy daily light exercise and you love a ball-loving Golden that has a lot to say, look no further! You'll wonder how you spent a day without me because I'll bring you so much love and joy. I'm a precious Golden who wants nothing more in life than to be by your side, showing you unconditional love. I'm right here (with my ball) waiting to start our life's journey together.

Luv, Emmett

Photos by Amanda Murray Photography and Emmett's foster mom

Additional information: *Housetrained *Current on shots