Meet Elliott!

CLICK HERE to find out about our adoption policies.

CLICK HERE to apply.

Elliott

Breed: Retriever (mix)
Age: 1 years old
Gender:male
Weight: 31 lbs
Altered: Yes

CUTENESS ALERT...Great things come in small packages! I'm Elliott and I'm a bundle of happy, bouncy puppy energy. I'm a little love bug who's full of personality and spunk. I'm an approximately 1 year old Retriever mix. The "mix" is a mystery, but I'm like a mini Lab/Golden who is the cutest thing you've ever seen. I 'm going to look like a little Lab/Golden puppy forever. I weigh 31 pounds and you'll fall in love with me instantly. Don't let me size fool you, because I can hold my own with the big dogs!

I was found as a stray by animal control and taken to the shelter. AGN rescued me and what a happy day it was! I'm now living like a prince with my foster family and waiting for my forever family to take me home. Someone's going to have a fun filled life with me in it!

Personality Traits: I'm "Mr. Personality Plus"! Super cuddly sweetheart who's mastered the art of jumping straight up in the air...not on you...straight up. I'm silly, social, energetic and fun. Super smart with major potential if training is maximized. Social and friendly with everyone. Energetic and happy about everything. I'm all out energy and fun, then I want to snuggle up with you. The pitter patter of my little paws take every step that you do.

Status with People:I'm a social butterfly and never meet a stranger. Love all people and children. Great with children and the perfect size to play with older children. Cherish attention and affection from all humans. Cuddle up with my humans when I'm tired.

Status with Dogs:I'm a confident fella who's good with other dogs and loves to play (whether they want to play with me or not). I think every dog adores me and wants to play with me, which can be annoying to other dogs. I have 3 furry foster siblings to play with. They're all Goldens; all males and various ages. I play a lot with the younger Goldens, but I'm too much for the senior Golden.

Status with Cats: Cats unknown

Favorite Toys: I LOVE toys! I enjoy playing with my stuffy and squeaky toys the best. It's fun to hear them squeak. I also like to play ball. I'm learning to bring it back, but then get distracted after a few times. I also like my rope toy with a ball on it. All toys are my friend.

Energy Level: I'm a typical playful, energetic older puppy. Active and energetic outside...running, romping and playing with my Golden foster sibling. We play in the house also, but settle down nicely when tired. I'm not hyperactive, just puppy active.

House Trained:Yes, but I probably could not hold it more than about 6 hours during the day, although I'm fine when sleeping at night. I'm young and need to be on a schedule. AGN recommends that you train me to "Poochie Bells" as this allows me to give you clear communication by ringing the bells when I need to potty.

Crate Trained:Yes, but I'm not a fan. I'd rather be running, romping and playing, but I do settle down in the crate after some initial barking to alert you to my unhappiness.

House Manners:PUPPY PROOF! I'm quite good overall, but prone to get into something if you're not watching me. I'm an older puppy so do not expect me to not chew on things if given the opportunity. I must confess...one of my favorite things to do is jump from couch to couch in my foster home, often over my Golden foster sister. It's a fun game and I'm hilarious with my "circus stunts". If you don't like dogs on your couch, then I'm not your pup.

Leash Manners:Good for such a young age with my Walk Your Dog With Love harness. I'll get better and better the more I practice and the more walking I do.

Exercise:Energetic pup so must get significant daily exercise and playtime... power walking/jogging, hiking, swimming, etc. Running and playing with other dogs is important for me to meet my social and exercise needs. I'm a great dog park dog. I'd also be a GREAT agility dog! Did I tell you I can jump straight up in the air...it's quite impressive!

Car Rides: I love car rides, but need to learn not to bounce from backseat to front seat. A seat belt would be ideal for me. Once I learn, I'll be a great car companion and up for any fun trip or outing you're ready for.

Basic Commands:I've just started clicker training. I'm catching on fast. I know "Come" and working on "Sit". I'm treat motivated and eager to please, but impulse control is a challenge due to my "puppy-ness".

Things I need in my forever home:
-Active family that likes to exercise daily by taking lots of walks/runs, hikes and fun outdoor adventures. I'm a hardy little guy who is up for all fun adventures.
-I'm young and active and need someone with the time to commit to my exercise and training. Someone who doesn't work, works from home or works part time OR someone who will take me to doggy daycare or who is in out to exercise me during the day.
-Positive reinforcement obedience training classes are REQUIRED as I'm still learning. I have so much potential and am so smart. This will help us bond and build our relationship and it's so much fun. I'd be fantastic at agility. My ability to jump is truly impressive and should be channeled into something fun for both of us.
-I'd highly prefer an active dog companion that will run and play with me, share toys and snuggle as I love to run and play with other dogs
-Although AGN cannot confirm as I'm in foster with 3 doggie playmates, I'd likely be fine as an only dog if I get to socialize with other active dogs on a regular basis and get lots and lots of exercise. My energy is going to increase for my human if I don't have another dog to play with in the home. Are you up for it?
-I'd be a good playmate for older children as I'm all about having fun...but I'm active, fast and jump in the air so small children are not ideal.
-I'd be likely be fine in a townhome IF you get me enough exercise (and that's a lot of exercise) and take me to play with regular dog friends, lots of outdoor adventures, running, etc.

So if you're looking for a little love bug to bring joy and fun to your life, you've hit the jackpot with me. I'm full of personality with all that awesomeness in a small package and I'm ready to be your best buddy. Oh the fun we'll have making memories together! I'll melt your heart and keep you on your toes. I'm something special that will make your world a little brighter each day.

Luv, Elliott

Photos by Amanda Murray Photography

Additional information: *Housetrained *Current on shots