Meet Ellie!

CLICK HERE to find out about our adoption policies.

CLICK HERE to apply.

Ellie

Breed: Nova Scotia Duck Tolling Retriever mix
Age: 5 years
Gender: female
Weight: 45 lbs
Altered: Yes

Are you looking for the sweetest, most gentle and loving ultimate companion to share life with? A happy, calm, velcro shadow that wants nothing more than your love? Hi, I'm Ellie and my stunning, soulful eyes will melt your heart! Get ready to fall in love with me as everyone does. I'm an approximately 5 year old Nova Scotia Duck Tolling Retriever mix with a Golden personality. I'm that perfect medium size at 45 pounds. I'm a beautiful little lady, both inside and out.

My caretaker surrendered me to AGN because she wanted me to have the best life ever. She knew AGN would find me a wonderful forever family. Now, I'm getting so much love and attention in my foster home, but I'm ready to start my new journey in life with my "meant to be" family.

Personality Traits: : I'm an incredibly sweet "love bug" who is your typical Golden "velcro shadow". Low maintenance, easy going, gentle, eager to please and happy go lucky. Friendly with everyone of all ages and enjoy the simple things in life. Perfect companion to be by your side and cherish life together.

Status with People: I'm a sweet, social butterfly who never meets a stranger. I'm friendly with all people and love to be with my humans. Love children and wonderful with them. Can get a bit nervous with a lot of loud, frantic activity, but great playmate for gentle children. Smart and eager to please. I love to snuggle up with you and put my head in your lap.

Status with Dogs:Cautious with other dogs at first, especially if they invade my personal space for too long. Need adjustment time when living in the home with another dog as I most likely have always been an only dog and seems likely that I had a bad experience so am a bit unsure. I'll give a growl to another dog if I feel threatened, but I follow it up with submissive licking of the dog's face. Live with a 7 year old female Golden. We're friends who are learning to play with each other. Have been fine with dogs I've met on walks and with the other AGN orphans at "meet & greet" events.

Status with Cats: Cats unknown

Favorite Toys: : I love my squeaky ball and stuffy toys that squeak. Like a typical Golden, I enjoy carrying them around with me, especially my squeaky ball. Enjoy playing with a tennis ball and will sometimes chase after it. I'm not the best "retriever" yet because I just proudly showcase my ball in my mouth. Maybe you can teach me a good game of fetch!

Energy Level:Moderate energy overall. Moderate energy outside when on walks or playing with children. Lower energy inside and enjoy lounging on the couch. I can be a content "couch potato" or I can become more animated and active when playing with gentle children in the home.

House Trained: Yes

Crate Trained:Yes, but I don't need a crate as I'm perfect in the house with free roam.

House Manners:Perfect lady with excellent house manners. I don't bother a thing . Sleep on an orthopedic bed in my foster parents room and have been known to snuggle in the bed on occasion.

Storm Phobia: Afraid of lightening, but not as fearful of thunder. Closing the blinds makes me feel better when it's lightening. I'm not destructive, but seek comfort and then will settle down. I could benefit from the CD, "Through a Dog's Ear" during storms with lightening; possibly a Thundershirt.

Leash Manners: : Excellent on leash with the Walk Your Dog With Love harness and really enjoy my daily walks. I'm the perfect walking partner!

Exercise:Love my once or twice a day walks. I typically go about 1 or 2 miles at a time. Also enjoy time in the backyard with my furry foster sibling and foster family, but I do not want to be outside by myself. I want to be with my humans as I adore my them!

Car Rides:Love to ride in the car! Enjoy looking out the window. If you're looking for a furry friend to go on a road trip or just run errands around town...I'm your girl!

Basic Commands:I know Sit, Paw (Shake) and No. I'm working on Wait/Stay.

Things I need in my forever home:
-I would be the perfect match for a retired couple that wants the ultimate companion to love on and take leisurely strolls with OR I'd be good in a home with gentle children who would play with me - I need a home that's not too boring, but not too loud and crazy. I just want to be with someone who will love me as much as I love and adore them!
-I'd do best in a home where you're not gone long hours; I enjoy human interaction and cherish affection. I take every step you do and wait patiently at the door when you leave.
-I'd prefer to be the only dog where I could be the center of attention, but would do fine with another nice, calm dog who has a neutral temperament- no dominant or overly confident dogs and no energetic young dogs please! I can be dominant sometimes with other female dogs, but then also show submission sometimes. I really just don't have my dog communication skills perfected yet, but I'm learning each day.
-I'd be fine in a townhouse or condo as long as you like to walk daily.

I'm simply a delightful, love of a dog! So if you're looking for a mild mannered, beautiful lady and you enjoy the pitter patter of paws behind you, I'm you're perfect companion. I'm a happy girl with a never-ending wagging tail and ready to share life with my new family. I don't ask for much, just your love, kindness and devotion. I promise to bless your life with so much happiness and joy. Will you share your love with me? I will give you all of mine!

Luv, Ellie

Photos by Leslie Morrison and Ellie's foster mom

Additional information: *Housetrained *Current on shots