Meet Dudley!

CLICK HERE to find out about our adoption policies.

CLICK HERE to apply.

Dudley

Breed: Golden Retriever Mix
Age: Approx 10yrs
Gender:Male
Weight: 79 lbs
Altered: Yes

**PLEASE NOTE: DUDLEY MUST HAVE A HOME WITH MINIMAL STAIRS, AREA RUGS/CARPETS DUE TO ARTHRITIC ELBOWS FROM A PREVIOUS INJURY. DUDLEY MUST ALSO HAVE A GENTLE DOG COMPANION AS HE BECOMES ANXIOUS IF LEFT ALL ALONE.

I'm just a love machine! CHARMING, SWEET, LOVING, MELLOW, HAPPY, VELCRO SHADOW looking for a lifetime of love, snuggles and couch cuddling with my forever family. That's me...Dudley ! My soulful eyes will melt your heart. I'm an approximately 10 year old Golden mix and weigh 79 pounds. I'll bring joy and love to your life each day. My peaceful nature makes the world a better place.

My past is a sad one that left me with injuries to both of my elbows, but my future is bright thanks to AGN. So, here I am with a second chance in life and looking for my true forever family. Could it be you? Everyone who meets me adores me.

Personality Traits: There are no words to describe how WONDERFUL I am! All around sweetheart who is the typical loving Golden, velcro shadow, ultimate snuggle bug, gentle, easy going. I adore being with my humans and furry friends. Social butterfly who's friendly to everyone and always happy to make new friends. Peaceful with everyone. Like to "talk" with a bark/growly voice...so cute! I'm a bit of an "old man"... I'm slow and easy going, walk with a wobble and just like to be with my humans, dog friends and snuggle on the couch. Sensitive to the emotions and reactions of others so need a "zen" household with a calm and loving atmosphere.

Status with People:Sweet and friendly to all people and children.

Status with Dogs: GREAT! Peaceful and as neutral as it gets with other dogs. In foster with multiple other dogs and get along with each one, both genders, all ages. I love the companionship and follow them around, but I don't play with them. I just want to have dog friends in my life to be close to. MUST HAVE A CALM/GENTLE DOG COMPANION IN MY FOREVER HOME ...one that enjoys spending time with me, but will not be too active for me.

Status with Cats: Good with cats. There is a kitten in my foster home. I like her and typically ignore her silly antics. Will get into kitty litter.

Favorite Toys: Not really into toys. I'm more about hanging out with my people.

Energy Level: Low energy. Laid back and mellow.

House Trained: Yes, but had some accidents in the beginning so this could possibly happen when I transition to a new home. All part of having a dog and the adjustment of adopting a rescue dog.

Crate Trained: No, I PANIC IN A CRATE!!! I have free roam.

House Manners: Good manners in the house and not destructive as long as I have a dog companion. If left all by myself, I will become anxious and have been known to panic. Perfect gentleman otherwise and don't bother anything. I'm a total "couch potato" and like to nap and snuggle up with my human on the couch. Sometimes I sleep all night on the couch. I can get on and off, but will need a plan for assistance as I age as the couch is one of my favorite things, especially if you are cuddled up with me.

Leash Manners: Good on leash.

Exercise:: Due to my elbows, I need multiple very short walks where I decide how far we go. I need to keep moving for my health and mobility, but I get tired and sore quickly.

Car Rides: A little nervous in the car so I need to go on lots of fun adventures so I associate the car with positive things. Putting treats in the backseat for me to find would be ideal. I will also need help getting in so a ramp would be the best option.

Basic Commands: Sit, wait.

Medical: AGN will go in detail with my adopter. I had a previous injury to both elbows that has left damage and created fusing and arthritis. I can barely bend my left elbow. I'm quite aware of my limitations and alter appropriately, but need minimal stairs, area rugs or carpet so I don't fall. I must be on a daily anti-inflammatory from the vet and joint supplementation. It is critical that I not be overweight to maintain mobility so diet control is key.

I have separation anxiety if left alone that makes me panic. I also panic in a crate and will break out of it. The solution is at least one other gentle dog companion and then I'm fine with free roam in the home. I just do not want to be by myself.

Things I need in my forever home:
-Someone who understands my medical limitations with my elbows and has a home and lifestyle that is suitable for my senior needs
-A calm and quiet household as I'm sensitive to people's emotions. I'm laid back and need a laid back environment
-Someone who wants a true best furry friend to hang out with and snuggle up with. I'm a cuddle bug so I like lounging on the couch with you and being where you are
-Need a home where someone is not gone long hours due to my medical status and the fact that I do best with human and dog companionship
-Must have at least one nice, gentle dog that will be hang out with me and enjoy being my buddy. I don't know how to play, but I enjoy being close to my dog friends. **I have separation anxiety without another dog.
-Older children would be considered, but not young children due to my elbows and preference of calmness in the home
-Orthopedic beds and comfy couches for me to lounge on and take naps
-A "senior dog home" - Minimal stairs, carpet/area rugs, etc.

I've been through a lot of sadness in my life and my senior body shows the evidence. We all age with a history and we all need to be loved unconditionally. I'm like the Velveteen Rabbit...a little worn, wise and older, but I'm the symbol of real life...it's ups and downs...it's tragedies and triumphs. I deserve all the good that life has to offer. I'm waiting on my "meant to be" forever family to find me. I promise to love you for the rest of my days!

Luv, Dudley

Photos by Susan Peck and Foster Family Additional information: *Housetrained *Current on shots