Meet Duchess!

CLICK HERE to find out about our adoption policies.

CLICK HERE to apply.

Duchess

Breed: Golden Retriever
Age: 2 years
Gender:Female
Weight: 60 lbs
Altered: Yes

**READ ENTIRE BIO AS DUCHESS IS A WORK IN PROGRESS WITH SPECIAL DIETARY NEEDS. DOG COMPANION REQUIRED (No Exceptions on Requirements).

Hi, I'm Duchess. Super sweet, in your face for attention kind of Golden! I'm a 2 year old Golden Retriever (DOB 3/16/18) who's learning the world for the first time and blossoming each day. I weigh approximately 60 pounds. Every pound of me is full of love and Golden kisses.

My sister and I were surrendered from a breeding kennel. We spent our very young lives being moms, so I'm now ready to find my forever family and be a beloved pet. I'm experiencing happiness, love and fun for the first time, enjoying the luxuries of living in my foster home.

Personality Traits: I'm a sweetheart who loves belly rubs, giving Golden kisses and the ultimate velcro shadow unless playing with my furry foster siblings. A bit shy of strangers at first, but then your happy BFF. Startled of new things and loud noises at first. I'm loving, happy, snuggly and fun when I get to know you. You'll fall in love with me as long as you give me a chance to adapt to my new surroundings and let me settle in. Although tentative of new situations, I adapt quickly and enjoy life. Due to my background, I can be a flight risk so safety must be maximized to keep me from bolting on walks or out of doors and getting lost. I'm learning how to be a dog...learning the joys of life inside with a family. I'm doing amazing and starting to really shine. but I'm a work in progress!

Status with People: I'm friendly with tail wagging when I meet people, but a little shy at first. Adore my family and cannot get close enough to them. Good with children, but do not take much interest in them. Live with two children currently.

Status with Dogs: Great with other dogs. Neutral in temperament. Lived my entire life with my sister in a kennel and now have two furry foster siblings. I play with them a lot and look to them for guidance. We run, romp and play. I must have a dog companion who will play with me in my forever home.

Status with Cats: : Unknown

Favorite Toys: Stuffy toys, squeaky toys, nylabones, buffalo horns, etc. Stuffy "murderer" sometimes so Go Dog, Huggle Hound, Tuff, etc. is recommended.

Energy Level: Moderate energy overall. Run, romp and play with my furry foster siblings, but settle down nicely to snuggle on the couch with my foster mom and furry foster siblings.

House Trained: I had some accidents in the beginning and may regress in a new home at first. I had to learn what it meant to potty outside since I lived in a concrete kennel. Consistent schedule, attention to my cues and patience is key. Training me to "poochie bells" would be a great benefit. I could give clear communication that I need to go out. I’m prone to get distracted outside and forget to go potty, so it’s important to make sure that I’ve taken care of business before you bring me back inside.

Crate Trained: I PANIC and BREAK OUT of a crate IF LEFT ALONE while you're gone, wire ones and plastic ones. Interestingly, I sleep soundly in one at night because I'm with my foster family and furry foster siblings and even lounge in it while foster mom gets ready in the morning. I'm fine in the home with my furry foster siblings with free roam while you're gone. I just cannot take the confinement alone.

House Manners: PUPPY PROOF!!! Puppy proofing is key because I'm learning! Although I'm 2 years old, I had to learn living inside living for the first time. Can be sneaky and go into rooms and take things out or chew on molding, etc. Sock stealer so put up the socks. Counter surfer so remove all temptations (learned this from my furry foster brothers). Still figuring it all out and need positive reinforcement training and guidance.

Leash Manners: I'm learning the leash and do a lot of circling around you as I'm just not sure what to do yet, so am anxious. It's important that I walk with another dog so I can watch and learn what they are doing. Practice, praise and treats will help me progress. Learning from a dog friend will help me build confidence. Double leashing (one leash to collar and one leash to harness) is important to maximize safety.

Exercise:: I play a lot of the day with my furry foster siblings. We run, wrestle and play. When not playing, I love to snuggle up with foster mom or follow her every step.

Car Rides: I don't mind the car too much, but still learning. I can occasionally get a bit car sick. I need to associate car rides with fun things verses just going to the vet. Putting treats in the backseat for me to randomly find and going fun places is a great idea.

Special Dietary Needs: I have a sensitive stomach and chronic soft stools. Some was associated with a high load of worms when I came into AGN. Some could be anxiety induced with all the changes I've been through, but it could also be a chronic condition. I've seen the vet many times and I'm a healthy girl, just one with soft stools. I'm on a protocol of Purina Pro Plan Sensitive Skin and Stomach Salmon kibble, 1 tbsp Metamucil (fiber supplement) and a daily pro-biotic. This will need to be continued.

Things I need in my forever home:
- Someone who understands I'm learning the world for the first time and is committed to working with me in a positive manner. Someone who understands that I'm typically comfortable in the house with my family, but the world outside the home is still new for me.
- Someone committed to focusing on my positive socialization. I need to associate the world with positive experiences. Someone who understands that I'm hesitant of strangers at first, new things, loud noises and someone who will help me build confidence.
- Moderately active family that enjoys the outdoors, is committed to my daily exercise and socialization.
- Not too chaotic of a household. I need a more stable environment with a daily routine. This helps with confidence and my dietary needs.
- Someone who doesn't work, works from home or works part time is best as I'm still learning each day. I can't continue to progress unless someone has the time to work with me on a daily basis. I need the human interaction. I will not progress without someone with me more often than not. My foster parents both work from home.
- Positive reinforcement obedience training classes would be beneficial. This will help us bond and build our relationship...and it's so much fun. Agility would be great for me as it would help build my confidence with new things. All training should be force free/positive or I will shut down.
- I must have an active and confident dog to serve as my helper/mentor and playmate. One that will play with me and guide me. That is the quickest way for me to learn. I'm learn by watching other dogs. Another dog will help me build confidence. I've been with my sister my entire life so I need a dog companion.
- Due to me being a flight risk to bolt out of doors, run away in fear, etc., I MUST be double leashed when outside on walks. If I get away from you, I will be gone!

I'm the sweetest girl you could ever imagine! I'm a wonderful Golden who's had a rough start in life with my sister, but I'm learning the luxuries of a loving family and enjoying all the fun that comes with it. I'm definitely a love bug who you will fall in love with, as long as you love a Golden all in your space. I am one of those Goldens who craves attention and is right on top of you. I'll bring you joy, love, happiness and Golden kisses each day. I'm a diamond in the rough and shining brighter each day!

Luv, Duchess

Photos by Angel Pardue Additional information: *Housetrained *Current on shots