Meet Chase!

CLICK HERE to find out about our adoption policies.

CLICK HERE to apply.

Chase

Breed:Golden Retriever (purebred)
Age: 1.5 years old
Gender: male
Weight: 72 lbs
Altered: Yes

SNUGGLE BUG ALERT! Hi, I'm Chase. I'm a sweet, snuggly and silly pup who's like a ray sunshine each day! I'm an approximately 1 and 1/2 year old Golden Retriever. I weigh 72 pounds. Every pound of me will bring a smile to your face!

I was surrendered to the shelter because my family did not have time for the needs of an older puppy. I lived with a child and cats. The shelter contacted AGN immediately and the kind AGN volunteers came to rescue me. I'm having fun with my foster family, both human and furry. It's now time for me to start the next chapter of my life with my forever family.

Personality Traits: Sweetheart of a pup who is happy, silly, loving, energetic and fun. Although an active older puppy, I have more of a laid back temperament overall. Super smart with major potential if training is maximized. Social and friendly with everyone. Eager to please and crave affection. Typical Golden "velcro shadow" and "leaner". Yes, I lean into you for as much affection as you'll share with me. I'm also a big "lap puppy" who'll crawl right up into your lap to cuddle.

Status with People:I'm a social butterfly! Never meet a stranger. Good with children and live with a child in my foster home and previous home. Cherish attention and affection from all humans.

Status with Dogs: GREAT with other dogs and loves to play. I have a furry foster sister who is a young Golden and we have a blast together. We love to romp and play.

Status with Cats: Although I do not have cats in my foster home, I lived with cats in my previous home and did fine with them.

Favorite Toys:I'm learning all about toys and think they're great! I like elk antlers to chew on and a Kong with peanut butter is great. I like rope toys and tennis balls. I'm learning to chase the ball, but haven't quite figured out how to bring it back, yet. Maybe you can teach me!

Energy Level: Active and energetic outside running, romping and playing with my Golden foster sister. We play in the house also, but settle down for snuggles when tired. I get a lot of exercise as I'm running and playing most of the time with my best furry friend. I still have playful puppy energy, but I calm down nicely.

House Trained:Yes. I go to the door and start pacing if I need to go out. "Poochie bells" are recommended so that I can give you a clear signal that you can hear that I need to go out.

Crate Trained: Yes, I do well in my crate and go in nicely for a treat or a peanut butter Kong. I'm in a crate when my foster family is away and at night so my furry foster sister and I don't play through the night.

House Manners:I have great house manners for such a young age, but puppy-proofing is still important.

Storm Phobia:None seen

Leash Manners:: Great on a leash for such a young age on my Walk Your Dog With Love harness. I get distracted with all the things to sniff and see, but I really do not pull much with my harness. I do shy away from passing cars as I'm afraid of them. I was hit by a car in my previous home when I bolted out of the door.

Exercise: Active pup so must get significant daily exercise and playtime... power walking/jogging, hiking, swimming, etc. Running and playing with other dogs is important for me to meet my social and exercise needs. I'd be a great dog park dog.

Car Rides:Although I'm afraid of passing cars while walking, I'm good in the car and quite calm.

Basic Commands:Sit, Paw (shake)...working on Wait and Watch Me

Special Needs: was hit by a car in my previous home when I bolted out the door. My previous owners told the shelter that I only needed stitches and there was no significant injury. The AGN vet did not see any issues and I have no limitations, but an adopter is encouraged to monitor this as I age in case I need glucosamine supplements at an early age.

Things I need in my forever home:
-Active family that likes to exercise daily by taking lots of walks/runs, hikes and fun outdoor adventures
-Someone who's not gone long hours. I'm young and active and need someone with the time to commit to my exercise and training.
-Positive reinforcement obedience training classes as I have so much potential and am so smart. This will help us bond and build our relationship and it's so much fun.
-I'd be fine in a home without another dog if I get to socialize with other active dogs on a regular basis and get lots of exercise. I'd enjoy the dog park.
-I'd enjoy a dog companion that will play with me, share toys and snuggle as I love to play with other dogs
-If you work away from home, I must have a dog companion
-I'd be fine with older children who are sturdy on their feet and know how to respect the boundaries of a dog

So, if you are looking for a SNUGGLE BUG of a pup who has a fantastic temperament and craves affection, I'm your perfect pup! I just ooze with sweetness and love and I have all of that unconditional love just waiting for YOU! I'm a special pup who has touched the hearts of everyone who meets me. My precious face and sweet personality will bring joy and laughter to your life each day. I can't wait to curl up in your lap for snuggles and enjoy life together!

Luv, Chase

Photos by Amanda Murray Photography

Additional information: *Housetrained *Current on shots