Meet Bella Mae!

CLICK HERE to find out about our adoption policies.

CLICK HERE to apply.

Bella Mae

Breed: Lab/Golden (mix)
Age: 10 years old
Gender: female
Weight: 97 lbs
Altered: Yes

The most laid back, wonderfully wise, refined lady you can think of...that's me, super sweet Bella Mae. My friends call me "Bella" and that's been my name since a puppy. I'm a 10 year old Golden/Labrador mix. I weigh 97 pounds. I'm too "fluffy" right now and need to lose 15 pounds to be at my healthy weight. I'm working on this with a holistic diet, steamed veggies and gentle exercise. So put on your walking shoes and let's maximize our health together!

After being diagnosed with arthritis, my family turned me into the shelter as they didn't want me to be in pain. They could not afford medication/glucosamine supplements for me. I was devastated and heartbroken at the shelter, missing my family and scared. Then, the kind volunteers of AGN rescued me from the shelter. I'm loving life with my foster family where I'm being treated like a princess until my "meant to be" forever family adopts me.

Personality Traits: I'm your ultimate companion... a super sweet girl who's low maintenance, easy going, sweet and loving. Friendly to everyone and always happy to make new friends. Not a fan of stairs due to my extra weight and arthritis. Co-exist well with other dogs. Lovely temperament. I'm the total package!

Status with People:Good with all people. May give a little bark for a moment when strangers enter the home, but then immediately become your best buddy. My previous owner had older children and I was good with them, but I'm not a child's playmate due to my age.

Status with Dogs: Good with other dogs. Co-exist nicely, but not really into playing with other dogs. I live with a male Golden about my age and we enjoy life just hanging out together. I do get a bit excited when I see other dogs on walks. I want to meet new doggie friends.

Status with Cats: My previous family told the shelter that I'm good with cats, but there is not a cat in my foster home.

Favorite Toys:I haven't taken much interest in toys, but do like to chew on my Nylabone. I might also enjoy Himalayan chews or buffalo horns. I'll chase the ball, but haven't learned to bring it back yet. It's more fun to watch you fetch, LOL!

Energy Level: Lower energy with an easy going, mellow temperament.

House Trained:Yes, but had a few accidents at first in my foster home. I was nervous and confused as to what was happening with all of the change in my life after being in the same home for 10 years. The key is figuring out my schedule and watching me until you learn that schedule. My foster mom can help you with that.

Crate Trained: Yes, I do use my crate some. I go in my crate nicely if you toss a treat in it. I also stay out with free roam some. It's really up to you.

House Manners:Good manners in the house and not destructive. I don't bother anything.

Storm Phobia:None seen

Leash Manners::Good on leash and love my walks. I get a little excited when I see other dogs walking because I want to be their friend.

Exercise: I take multiple short walks a day right now as I lose weight and build walking stamina. Consistent daily walking is SO IMPORTANT for me in my weight loss journey and overall health. Need someone fully committed to my walking. We can be healthy together! A body in motion stays in motion!

Car Rides:Despite having arthritis, I can get in out of a truck...impressive right!?! Once in, I often lie in the floor of the backseat. I pant some, but I'm content and feel safe there.

Medical: Vet recommends that I lose 15 pounds with a healthy, holistic diet and lots of gentle exercise. I also have some arthritis that calls for daily glucosamine supplements. I'm currently on Synovi G4 and it's really working for me. May need a maintenance NSAID in the future, but with hitting my ideal weight and maintaining on the Synovi G4, I may remain stable. I'm doing great!

Things I need in my forever home:
-Someone committed and focused on my weight loss and exercise to maximize my health.
-A retired couple or a low-key family that likes to engage in gentle daily exercise such as strolls through the neighborhood and park, leisurely hikes through the trails, etc.
-A non-working or part-time working home is preferred, but a working home would be fine if I have a dog companion so I'm not alone. A working home will be considered as long as you have plenty of time to spend with me before and after work and are not gone long hours.
-I need orthopedic dog beds to protect my joints and bring me comfort when I nap and sleep.
-I need a home with minimal stairs and carpeting/rugs vs. all hardwoods.
-A townhome/condo is fine as long as I get the exercise I need.

Although I may be a bit older and too "fluffy" right not, I have so much life and love to give. I'm just a low-key and easy going sweetheart who longs for you love and kindness. Everyone gets older and often "fluffier" with time, but I'm full of unconditional love to share with you and we can work on the "fluffy" part together. So, if you are looking for a wonderful Golden Oldie to bring you joy and happiness, let's cherish life together!

Luv, Bella Mae

Photos by Jodi Reiter Photography

Additional information: *Housetrained *Current on shots