Meet Bella!

CLICK HERE to find out about our adoption policies.

CLICK HERE to apply.

Bella

Breed: Golden Retriever (mix)
Age: 2 years
Gender: female
Weight: 49 lbs
Altered: Yes

Are you looking for a happy, energetic young dog to have fun adventures with? A sweet, curious, playful, "talkative" young lady that is blossoming every day? Hi, I'm the beautiful Bella. I'm full of joyful exuberance and waiting to be your best friend! I'm an approximately 2 year old Golden mix. I weigh 49 pounds so I'm that perfect medium size.

Sadly, my previous family moved away and left me in the backyard. I was found weeks later and the property management company surrendered me to AGN. I'm having a blast with my foster family (especially my best dog friend) and now I'm ready to start my life with my true forever family.

Personality Traits: : I'm a sweetheart of a pup who is loving, energetic and fun. High energy outside and settle down inside after exercise and lots of playtime. Happy and fun with some shyness of new situations at first. Love to run and wrestle with my furry foster sibling outside and then snuggle up with her for a nap when we're tired.

Status with People: I'm friendly with all people once I know them and love my human "pack" very much. Shy at first with strangers, but warm up quickly after the initial "stranger danger". Happy to see the regular visitors that come to my foster home. Enjoy sitting in my foster dad's lap. Yes, I'm a lap dog who likes to snuggle up for affection. Good with children, but too active for young children.

Status with Dogs: I love my furry foster sister and we play, play, play. We also curl up for naps on the same dog beds and follow each other everywhere. She was a bit jealous of me at first, but now we're best buddies. When I play, I like to "rough house" and make growly play noises all in fun. I'm also confident and tend to be the girl in charge during playtime, but I share toys and my foster sister can hold her own.

Status with Cats: You can call me "critter control" because if a critter, cat included, comes in my yard...I'm going to chase it and dig for it if it goes in a hole. Those little chipmunks are fast!

Favorite Toys: : I enjoy playing fetch with tennis balls and will bring it back to you, dropping it at your feet. I love every toy in the toy basket and will drag them around.... Kongs, stuffy toys, squeaky toys, chew bones,etc. If it's a toy, it's my friend!

Energy Level:I'm high energy and enjoy the outdoors. Although I'm active and energetic outside with my furry foster sibling, I'll settle down for snuggles when tired. I get a lot of exercise as I'm running and playing most of the time with my best furry friend, Riley. Without this high level of exercise and playtime with my furry foster sister, I'd need a human to fulfill that active best friend role as YOU become my playmate.

House Trained:yes

Crate Trained:No, I do not need a crate. I have free roam of most of the house without issue. My foster family is gone 3-4 hours some days. I get a peanut butter filled Kong and do just fine while they are away. I look out the window as they leave, but just hang with my furry foster sister or play with my toys. I sleep on a dog bed in my foster parents room at night.

House Manners:For such a young age, I'm great in the house. Foster mom does puppy proof and does not leave tempting things on the counter. I might pick up a shoe and carry it around with the rest of my toys, but I don't chew on it.

Storm Phobia: No

Leash Manners: :This leash thing is all new to me and I'm progressing each day. My Walk Your Dog With Love harness is key. I'm curious and learning the world around me so I like to check most things out. My furry foster sister and I get excited and bark when we see other dogs on our walks. I get over stimulated, combined with both our excitement. We feed off of each other. I need practice and continued socialization. I need a dog experienced person walking me.

Exercise:I'm a young dog with LOTS of energy so must get significant daily exercise and playtime. Enjoy playing with my furry foster sister and we play almost all day. Enjoy outdoor adventures. I'd most likely be a great hiking partner.

Car Rides:I hop in the car and love to go!

Basic Commands:Sit, No

Things I need in my forever home:
-Active family that enjoys the outdoors and is committed to my daily exercise, training and socialization.
-Someone committed to focusing on my positive socialization. I need to associate the world with positive experiences. Someone who understands that I might be hesitant of new things at first and help me build confidence. I also need continued socialization with other dogs. I need someone who is dog experienced and understands that I communicate with "growly noises" when playing with other dogs, but is vigilant about making sure my confident playfulness stays in check. I'm really still learning how to communicate with other dogs so I need human and canine guidance.
-Someone who doesn't work, works from home or works part time is best as I'm still learning each day. I'm used to my foster family being home with me and my furry sister most of the time. I thrive in this environment because I'm young and active and need someone with the time to commit to my exercise and training.
-Positive reinforcement obedience training classes would be beneficial. This will help us bond and build our relationship...and it's so much fun. Agility would be great for me as I'm so fast and it would help build my confidence with new things.
-Older, dog experienced children would be fine as I love children, but do not have enough training for young children who might leave open doors, gates, etc.
-Would highly prefer and do best with a young, active dog that will play with me as I love to play with my furry foster sister most of the day. I'm dominant in play so my dog companion will need to be able to hold their own and enjoy "rough housing" and sharing toys.
-No townhomes/condos. I love to run and play in the big backyard with my doggie friend and humans.

So if you're active, enjoy exercise and are looking for a great companion who's an energetic young lady and everything that comes with it, you won't find a sweeter more fun, happy dog than me. If you're committed to my continued socialization and confidence building with new things while enjoying fun, outdoor adventures with me, I'm ready for my potential to be maximized. I'm waiting for that special someone who'll understand that life has been rough on me in the past, but I'm ready to take on my future with you by my side, guiding my paws.

Luv, Bella

Photos by Amanda Murray Photography and Bella's foster mom

Additional information: *Housetrained *Current on shots