Meet Bear!

CLICK HERE to find out about our adoption policies.

CLICK HERE to apply.

Bear

Breed: Pure Bred Golden Retriever
Age: 1 year
Gender:Male
Weight: 60 lbs
Altered: Yes

SWEET, SOCK LOVING, SNUGGLE BUG! I'm Bear and I'll charm my way into your heart! I'm 1 year old Golden Retriever with a DOB of 3/23/17 so still just a pup. I weigh approximately 60 pounds and every pound of me is the ultimate velcro shadow who loves having fun and can run like the wind.

I was surrendered to AGN because my owner purchased me as a puppy from a breeder, but did not have time to commit to the training and exercise needs of a puppy. She worked long hours and wanted the best for me. I'm having a blast in with my foster family and furry foster siblings, but now it's time for me to find my forever family. Could it be you?

Personality Traits: Incredibly sweet and loving, velcro shadow; high energy pup outside and settles down inside after exercise and lots of playtime; happy and fun with some shyness of new situations at first due to limited exposure as a young puppy; love to run and wrestle with my furry foster siblings; happy, bouncy, playful pup!

Status with People: Friendly with everyone and a "people pleaser"; slightly shy at first with strangers, but warms up quickly; good with children, but too active for young children

Status with Dogs: Great with other dogs and loves to play and wrestle; currently has multiple furry foster siblings of both genders

Status with Cats: Previous owner indicated that I was good with cats, but do not have cats in my foster home

Favorite Toys: SOCKS! Like to chase things but do not bring them back; likes stuffy toys, likes to chew on elk antlers and peanut butter kongs; and did I tell you that I LOVE to steal socks!

Energy Level: Older puppy with high energy; very active and energetic outside with my furry foster siblings, but settle down for snuggles when tired

House Trained: Yes

Crate Trained: Yes, but I do not like my crate as it was over used in my previous home; free roam when foster family is home and baby gated in living room when foster family is away to protect the socks :-)

House Manners: Older puppy so puppy-proofing is key; likes to steal and chew on socks, shoes, hats, etc.; counter surfer (although getting better at not counter surfing and ultimately it comes down to opportunity - so don't leave temptations on the counter); enjoys sleeping in bed with foster family and is the super snuggly

Storm Phobia: No

Leash Manners: Well.....I'm a work in progress and making great progress; I'm learning to pull less on my Walk Your Dog With Love harness but I will need continued positive reinforcement training and practice; I'm apprehensive of all the scary things in the world that I'm learning for the first time; we recently worked on trash cans...they do not attack! Leaves on trees that rustle, sounds, smells, etc . seem to be all new experiences; sirens...oh those are scary (but foster mom was startled, too!); the more I'm exposed to, the more I will learn and I'm doing so great!

Exercise:I get a lot of exercise each day; older pup with LOTS of energy so must get significant daily exercise and playtime; enjoys power walking/jogging, hiking and swimming; runs and plays with furry foster siblings

Car Rides: Great in the car and loves to go; sits in the backseat and watches out the side window

Basic Commands: Sit...and I'm learning more and more each day! I'm super smart and eager to please so it will not take me long

Additonal things I need in my forever home:
-Very active family that likes to exercise daily by taking lots of power walks/runs, hikes, swimming and fun outdoor adventures; I'd be a great running partner for someone
-Someone who doesn't work, works from home or works part time as I came out of a home where my owner worked long hours and now I'm used to my family being home with me and my furry siblings; I thrive in this environment because I'm young and active and need someone with the time to commit to my exercise and training
-Positive reinforcement obedience training classes - this will help us bond and build our relationship and it so much fun; agility would be great for me as I'm so fast and it would help build my confidence with new things
-Someone who'll continue to focus on my positive socialization - I need to associate the world with positive experiences
-Would highly prefer and do best with a young, active dog that will play with me as I love to play with other dogs
-No townhomes/condos as a fence is required as I love to run and play in the backyard with my doggie friends and humans

So, if you're looking for a LOVE BUG of an older puppy who has lots of fun energy and love to share, look no further. If you're willing to keep working with me on socialization and basic obedience, I'm ready for the task and can't wait to build confidence. The pitter patter of my paws will follow you everywhere so that you'll never be lonely as we take on life's adventures together. I'm ready to be your best friend and lifelong companion if you have endless socks for me to steal. I'm one super sweet and snuggly pup just waiting to bless your life with puppy fun and laughter.

Luv, Bear

Photos by Susan Peck

Additional information: *Housetrained *Current on shots