Meet Bailey Valentine!

CLICK HERE to find out about our adoption policies.

CLICK HERE to apply.

Bailey Valentine

Breed: Golden Retriever (purebred)
Age: almost 1 year (DOB 5/26/17)
Gender: male
Weight: 70 lbs
Altered: Yes

Sweet, energetic, goofy, happy-go-lucky, social butterfly who never meets a stranger...that's me, Bailey Valentine! My friends call me "Bailey" and that's been my name since birth. I'll charm my way right into your heart with my silly puppy antics and bring you love and laughter...and some puppy frustration as I'm not even a year old yet. My DOB is 5/26/17. I'm a adolescent Golden Retriever who weighs 70 pounds and I'm one stunningly handsome pup. I'm full of puppy exuberance and I just want to be your best friend, fun adventure companion and snuggle buddy! Oh how I love to snuggle!

I came to AGN after being surrendered by my family to the shelter. I was surrendered because my family worked long hours and didn't have time to invest in the training and exercise that I need. I needed someone with enough time and energy to commit to me as I'm an active older puppy. I have a puppy brain in a large puppy body so I'm still learning manners and impulse control. I'm having a blast with my foster family and now ready to start my life with my true forever family. I'm the total package so keep reading....

Personality Traits: : Sweetheart of a pup who is loving, very energetic , curious and fun; affectionate velcro shadow; super smart with major potential if training is maximized; social and friendly with everyone; eager to please; big ole "lap puppy" who is the ultimate CUDDLE BUG; still puppy mouthy and jumpy

Status with People: Likes all people and children; has always lived with older children, but too much of a high energy pup for young children; loves affection; joyful and excited to meet new people so often puppy mouthy and jumpy in excitement (all part of being an older puppy)

Status with Dogs:Great with other dogs; love to run, play and wrestle with my furry foster sisters; neutral in temperament and share my toys nicely with my dog friends

Status with Cats: Like to chase the cats to play with them in my foster home; they run and I chase...it's a fun game; I also like to chase the chickens and I'm quite curious about the horses

Favorite Toys: Everything and anything is a toy for me right now...so, puppy proof! Stuffy toys (really LOVE my stuffies), squeaky toys, nylabones, elk antlers...if it's a toy, it's my friend; I'm learning to play ball

Energy Level:High energy and in constant puppy motion; very active and energetic outside with my furry foster siblings, but settle down for snuggles when tired; I get A LOT of exercise and without this high level of exercise and playtime, my energy level will increase

House Trained: Yes, but I don't like to potty on my leash so make sure I have plenty of time in my yard to potty as I most likely will not potty on my walks

Crate Trained:Yes and crated when foster family is gone, but I now sleep out of my crate in my foster parents' room at night on a dog bed...I'm doing great!

House Manners:Puppy Proof!!! Still puppy mouthy and jumpy, but hasn't chewed much; MUST get enough exercise to not become bored and destructive since an older puppy and energetic; still does silly puppy things such as counter surfing and checking out everything I encounter. All part of being an older puppy as I'm still just a baby at heart! Just teach me in a positive manner as I'm eager to please

Storm Phobia: None seen

Leash Manners: : Strong and pulls in excitement; my Walk Your Dog With Love harness is key to reduce my pulling

Exercise:Older pup with LOTS of high energy so must get significant daily exercise and playtime; enjoy power walking/jogging, hiking; running and playing with furry foster siblings

Car Rides:Good in the car and loves to go

Basic Commands:Sit, Down (Lie Down) and Off; eager to please and loves his training sessions, especially with yummy treats

Things I need in my forever home:
-Someone who wants and understands a high energy, older puppy and all the fun and frustration that comes with it
-Very active family that likes to exercise daily by taking lots of power walks/runs, hikes, swimming and fun outdoor adventures; If you only walk 2-3 miles a day at a leisurely pace, I'm too much of an energetic puppy for you; I need a family that loves exercise and fun outdoor activities and wants a doggy companion by their side
-Someone who doesn't work, works from home or works part time as I'm used to my family being home with me and my furry siblings; I thrive in this environment because I'm young and active and need someone with the time to commit to my exercise and training
-Positive reinforcement obedience training classes REQUIRED - this will help us bond and build our relationship and it's so much fun
-Would do fine as an only dog if I get regular socialization and playtime with dog friends; great dog park dog - If an only dog, you will have to truly be my best friend and play with me A LOT!
-Would love to have another nice, active dog to run and play with who will share toys with me

So if you're active, enjoy exercise and are looking for a great companion who's an energetic older pup and everything that comes with it, you won't find a sweeter more fun, happy dog than me. I'm waiting for that special someone who'll maximize my potential and offer me unconditional love....and lots of toys to endlessly play with. I'm a silly, loving, joyful older puppy that will bless your life and keep you on your toes with all the fun we'll have! Just ask for me....Bailey Valentine! When you look into my soulful eyes, you'll fall in love!

Luv, Bailey Valentine

Photos by Jodi Reiter Photography and Bailey Valentine's foster mom

Additional information: *Housetrained *Current on shots