Meet Andy!

CLICK HERE to find out about our adoption policies.

CLICK HERE to apply.

Andy

Breed: Golden Retriever (purebred)
Age: 7 years old
Gender:male
Weight: 78lbs
Altered: Yes

AS CLOSE TO PERFECT AS IT GETS! Sweet, soulful, southern gentleman who adores children looking for a lifetime of love and kindness! I'll charm my way into your heart and light up your world with joy and happiness. I'm Andy, a 7 year old Golden Retriever that's a loveable teddy bear! My DOB is 4/1/12 and I weigh 78 pounds. I was shaved down before coming to AGN so my coat will grow back in time.

I was surrendered to AGN because my family had their second baby and did not have time for me. They wanted me to have the love and attention that I deserve. My foster parents love and adore me. They say someone's going to "hit the jackpot" when they add me to their family as it doesn't get any better than me!

Personality Traits: I'm a sweetheart who is the typical loving Golden. I have a wonderful and stable temperament. Laid back, easy going and adore just being with my humans, especially children. I LOVE children! Friendly to everyone and always happy to make new friends. I really am as close to perfect as it gets!

Status with People:Love all people and adore children. I'm GREAT with children. Lived with a toddler and infant in my previous home. Friendly and eager to greet everyone with my tail wagging.

Status with Dogs:Good with other dogs. Lived with a small dog in my previous home, but am the only dog in my foster home. Neutral to confident in temperament and prefer dogs closer to my age or dogs with a laid back personality. I'm a confident male so best not to be in a home with another confident or dominant male.

Status with Cats: Previous owner states good with cat, but AGN cannot confirm.

Favorite Toys:Love toys, but I have confession....I'm a "stuffy murderer". I will de-stuff one quickly so I must be monitored with them. AGN recommend the Go Dog and Huggle Hound brands. I'm not really into balls and not one to play fetch.

Energy Level: Lower to moderate energy inside with moderate energy outside. I can be active and playful outside, but then I typically just chill out inside or play with my toys.

House Trained:Yes. I'll stand by the door or stare at you when I need to potty.

Crate Trained:No and do not need one. I have free roam in the house and do great.

House Manners:Wonderful manners in the house and not destructive in any way; perfect gentleman and don't bother anything. I sleep on the cool floor and enjoy orthopedic beds.

Storm Phobia:None Seen

Leash Manners:I'm strong and pull if not on my Walk Your Dog With Love Harness.

Exercise: I Love my daily walks and they are important for me as I start to get older. A body in motion stays in motion. I also enjoy swimming.

Car Rides:Good in the car and I love to go for rides.

Basic Commands:Sit, Paw or Shake, Down (Lie Down). I do NOT have good recall so I could wander away if accidently off my leash. This should be worked on with positive reinforcement training.

Special Needs: I have a bit of mild arthritis so I'm on a glucosamine supplement. I also came into AGN with flea dermatitis so I'm on Welactin (salmon oil) to help with my skin and coat. I do have flea allergies, but this should not be an issue if you keep me updated on my flea/tick preventative. I may need Zyrtec 10 mg sometimes for seasonal allergies. I'm like a person who has environment allergies.

Things I need in my forever home:
-Moderately active family that likes to engage in daily exercise such as strolls through the neighborhood and park, leisurely hikes through the trails, etc.
-Someone who enjoys spending lots of time with their furbaby...I'm a "hang out with you" kind of fella that loves to just chill out and watch movies with you, lie beside you when you read a book on the patio, hang out with you while you garden, nap next to you while you work on your computer
-I'd be fine in a working home if you are not gone all day or have part time hours. I'd prefer someone who is home more often than not. Someone was always with me in my previous home and my foster family has a schedule where the family is in and out at different times.
-I LOVE children and would really like to have a family that has either children or grandchildren that come over a lot. I'm so good with children and they make me so happy...sweet, gentle and do not jump.
-I need orthopedic dog beds to protect my joints and bring me comfort when I nap and sleep.

So, if you're looking for a GREAT, GREAT GOLDEN, I'm that sweet, gentle, loving, easy-going soul to make your family complete! You'll wonder how you spent a day without me in your life because I'll bring you so much love and joy. I'm as close to perfect as you can imagine!

Luv, Andy

Photos by Jodi Reiter Photography

Additional information: *Housetrained *Current on shots