Meet Abigail!

CLICK HERE to find out about our adoption policies.

CLICK HERE to apply.

Abigail

Breed: Golden Retriever
Age:8- 9 years
Gender:female
Weight: 45 lbs
Altered: Yes

HAPPY! HAPPY! HAPPY! I'm Abigail, the sweetest and most happy girl in the world! I love life and am joyful each day. I'm a darling mix who is approximately 8-9 years old, but I act so much younger and my teeth look younger. I weigh approximately 45 pounds. I'm tall and lean like a supermodel. Every pound of me is full is love and joy! I have a true Golden personality.

I was rescued from the shelter where I had been found as a stray. I was a "shelter favorite" and everyone adored me. They were excited when an AGN volunteer came to get me. I deserve all the good that life has to offer. And oh boy, is someone going to be blessed to have me as a part of their family. Could you be the lucky one?

Personality Traits: I'm a bouncy ball of happiness who loves life! I'll touch your heart in ways you didn't think possible with my loving spirit, joyful exuberance and sweet disposition. Social and friendly with everyone...all my neighbors adorn me with affection when I go on my daily walks. Peaceful girl who gets along with everyone, human and furry.

Status with People:Everyone is my friend. Social and happy to meet all people. Good with children when on my walks, but do not live with them.

Status with Dogs: Great with dogs and like to play. Have dog siblings of various ages, sizes and both genders in my foster home...I'm good with all of them. Neutral in temperament.

Status with Cats: : Unknown, but enjoy chasing critters.

Favorite Toys: I love stuffy toys and playing ball.

Energy Level: Moderate overall. Energy increases outside and when I'm playing with my furry friends or ball, but then I settle down nicely.

House Trained:yes

Crate Trained:Not needed. I have free roam without issue.

House Manners:I have good house manners. Free roam and not destructive. Sleep on an orthopedic dog bed. I do love food so get ready to share healthy "treats" with me.

Storm Phobia: Scared of big thunder, but not "storm phobic". Who likes those loud "booms"...not me!

Leash Manners:I walk nicely on my Walk Your Dog With Love harness.

Exercise:Daily walks (typically twice a day) of 1 - 2 miles each time, plus playtime with my dog friends and playing with my toys.

Car Rides: I'm good in the car

Basic Commands:Sit, Lay Down, Come

Things I need in my forever home:
-Moderately active family that is ready for a spunky, happy older dog. One who likes to exercise daily by taking walks through the neighborhood, strolls in the park and hikes.
-I'd prefer a nice dog companion who is gentle in play, but will also run, romp and share toys. I adore my dog friends and like to play often. I'm good with both genders and all sizes.
-I'd likely be fine as an only dog if you're committed to spending most of your time with me to be my BFF and you get me lots of socialization with dog friends.
-I'd be fine in a working home as long as I have a dog companion, but someone would need to get me plenty of exercise before and after work. I need someone who is not gone long hours.
-I do not have issues with arthritis at all right now, but as I age it's a likely progression so there should be consideration regarding stairs in the home.

So, if you're looking to adopt an older dog who loves everyone and is happy all the time, I'm your girl! I'm sweet, lovable and ready for a lifetime of happiness with YOU! I'm one GREAT furry companion to light up your life with my love.

Luv, Abigail

Photos by Elaine Sears Photography and Abigails foster family Additional information: *Housetrained *Current on shots