Meet Rosie

CLICK HERE to find out about our adoption policies.

CLICK HERE to apply.

ROSIE

Breed:Golden Retriever (purebred)
Age: 10 months
Gender:female
Weight: 70 lbs
Altered: Yes

Playful, energetic, dog loving beauty, that's me Rosie. My friends call me Nosie Rosie or Rosie Toes. My name has been Rosie since a puppy so I know it well and love my nicknames. I'm a stunning and soft Golden Retriever. My DOB is 8/12/16 so I'm approximately 10 months old. I'm your typical bouncy, happy, higher energy older puppy who needs consistent and positive training and lots of exercise. I weigh approximately 70 pounds.

I was surrendered to AGN due to divorce. My owner did not have time to invest in the training and exercise that I need as she had tiny humans to take care of. She loved me and realized that I needed someone with enough time and energy to commit to me, I'm having a blast with my foster family and now ready to start my life with my true forever family.

Personality Traits: Energetic 'teen' that loves her humans, furry siblings and fun adventures outside chasing squirrels, birds, lightning bugs and romping with her doggie playmates; loves the water, going to the dog park and to doggy day care; enjoys long walks (up to 4-5 miles at a time) or runs on the greenway and going for swims

Status with People: Loves all people and children; lived with children in previous home but was a bit rambunctious for their young ages of 8 and 4

Status with Dogs: Confident female who is great with other dogs and loves to run, wrestle and play; currently has three furry foster siblings; LOVES the dog park and goes to doggy care where the staff adores me

Status with Cats: Not good with cats; chases them with too much unhealthy focus

Favorite Toys: Loves nylabones, rope toys, squeaky balls and anything else I can chew on; loves sticks that I can pick up in the yard; will relocate any socks that are left within reach

Energy Level: High energy; active and energetic outside, but will settle down for snuggles inside; starts mornings with a 4 mile run/walk, then will nap and relax for a couple of hours; once recharged, likes to go to the dog park for a couple of hours to run and play; loves to go to doggy day care several times per week to play and swim all day

House Trained: Yes; will alert you with a bark to let you know I need a potty break

Crate Trained: Yes and knows "Kennel Up"; will go right in, especially if you toss a treat; sleeps in crate at night and left for approximately 4 hours in crate if not at doggy day care during day

House Manners: Good house manners overall; will counter surf if there’s something appealing left out; still a puppy and gets into puppy mischief such as stealing socks or shoes, shredding paper and chewing plants; can be destructive if not exercised enough and/or bored and left without supervision

Storm Phobia: No

Leash Manners: walks beautifully on my Walk Your Dog With Love harness; will pull some but settles in nicely to a quick pace

Exercise: Older pup with high energy so must get significant daily exercise; needs lots of time to run and play; gets daily walks/runs on the greenway (approximately 4-5 miles per day), along with time at the dog park and doggy day care; also loves to swim

Car Rides: perfect little lady when riding in the car; may hesitate at first with her new owner, but quickly realizes that the car usually means going somewhere fun

Basic Commands: Sit, Shake, Down (Lie Down), Come, Drop It, Off, kennel up (to go in crate)

Things I need in my forever home:
- Active family that likes to exercise daily by taking lots of walks/runs, hikes, swimming and fun outdoor adventures - I need lots and lots of exercise and playtime
- Someone who either doesn't work, works from home, works part time or if someone works I'll need to go to doggy day care and I thrive in that environment; I'm not a dog that can be left alone while someone works 8-5 without going to doggy day care
- Positive reinforcement obedience training classes are REQUIRED - This will help us bond and build our relationship and it so much fun
- I'm young and active and need someone with the time to commit to my exercise and training
- Children 10 and older with dog experience would be great to play with, but I should be monitored with children as I'm an excitable youngster and I jump in my excitement
- I'd love a young, active dog that would play with me as I love to play with other dogs
- I'd be fine as an only dog if I had doggy friends to play with on regular basis - I'd enjoy the dog park and doggy daycare
- Fence required as I love to run, play and chase critters when we are outside together

So if you're looking for a great Golden girl who's an energetic older pup and everything that comes with it, you won't find a more fun, happy girl than me. I'm your typical "teenager" and will push the boundaries so consistent positive reinforcement training and significant exercise are key for me. I'm a sweetheart of a Golden who loves my humans, loves other dogs and loves life! So...are you ready to take on life's fun adventures with me by your side? Let the happiness begin!

Luv, Rosie

Photos by Amanda Murray Photography

Additional information: *Current on shots