Meet Rocky!

CLICK HERE to find out about our adoption policies.

CLICK HERE to apply.

Rocky-ADOPTION PENDING

Breed:Golden Retriever (purebred)
Age: 1 year
Gender:Male
Weight: 77 lbs
Altered: Yes

SWEET SNUGGLE BUG ALERT! Hi, I'm Rocky. I'm a sweet, snuggly, silly pup who's like a ray sunshine each day! I'll brighten your world with my beautiful personality. I'm gentle, happy, lovable, goofy, playful , affectionate and shy sometimes. I'm a 1 year old Golden Retriever. My DOB is 2/29/20. I weigh 77 pounds. As you can see, I'm one handsome gentleman!

I was surrendered to AGN because my family did not have time for the needs of an older puppy after getting me during the Covid-19 pandemic. I lived with a 4 children and another large female dog. I'm having a blast with my foster family, both human and furry. It's now time for me to start the next chapter of my life with my forever family. My foster family is head over heels in love with me. They say someone is going to be truly blessed to have me join their family.

Personality Traits: I'm a sweetheart of a pup who is a bit of an "old soul" in an older puppy body. I'm goofy, loving, fun, energetic and gentle. Although an active older puppy, I have more of a laid back temperament overall. I cherish my family and love those I get to know, but I'm a shy and skeptical until I get to know you and determine you are safe. Super smart with major potential if training is maximized. Eager to please and crave affection by gently putting my head on your lap or in your hand. Typical Golden "velcro shadow". I'm also a big "lap puppy" who'll crawl right up into your lap to cuddle.

Status with People:I love my foster family and love everyone I get to know, especially if you are sweet to me. I'm often skeptical of strangers who come into the home and might even bark. I have zero aggression and cower when I get close. I warm up with women more quickly than men, but I sure do love my foster dad so it just depends on the man. My foster family uses force-free, positive reinforcement training for barking and encourage me to direct my attention to them when scared of a male for reassurance of safety. When picked up by the AGN volunteer, I was her best friend in a moment and had my head in her hand for some love. I also met her husband and had no fear of him as he spoke sweet and softly to me, even cutting mats out of my fur. Everyone at the vet clinic fell in love with me. Good with children and excited to meet them. I lived with 4 children in my previous home, but the chaotic noise and fast movements are not ideal for me as I can get startled. I'm truly the sweetest fella, but likely have some scary memories. I just need to build more confidence and continue positive socialization.

Status with Dogs: I LOVE LOVE LOVE dogs! I'm great with other dogs and live to play. I have two furry foster siblings. My best buddy is a young Golden and we are best buddies. We love to share toys, play tug, run, romp and play, it doesn't matter if it's inside or outside, we are two peas in a pod. I'm quite the socialite at our doggy play dates and have excellent manners. I initiation play like a pro with wonderful dog to dog communication. I'm neutral in temperament and both of my furry foster siblings are neutral. I lived with a dominant female dog in my previous home and was bullied.

Status with Cats:I'm good with cats and live with one in my foster home.

Favorite Toys:I LOVE toys, especially if I can share them and play tug with my furry foster brother. I'm a tough chewer, so I can only have toys without stuffing and those made with dense enough materials that I can’t eat any pieces that could break off. Himalayan Yak chews and frozen Kongs are excellent for me. I haven't figured out the whole ball thing. Maybe you can teach me!

Energy Level: Active and energetic running, romping and playing with my Golden foster brother. We play in the house also, but settle down for snuggles when tired. I get a lot of exercise as I'm running and playing most of the time with my best furry friend. I still have playful puppy energy, but I calm down nicely and have a laid back, mellow temperament overall.

House Trained:Yes. I'm on a schedule and go out every two hours.

Crate Trained:Yes, but had a negative experience in my previous home where I was crated with my large dog companion and she would not let me lie down. I do NOT need a crate. I have free roam in the home and do great with my furry foster siblings.

House Manners: I have great house manners for such a young age, but puppy-proofing is still important. I'm like a toddler and will sneak under the table, putting my head into your lap, to pout and beg for some food. I'm a work I progress, LOL :-) I sleep either in the bed with my foster parents or on the floor with various dog bed options with my furry foster siblings. I do like to dig holes in the yard sometimes so if you're picky about your lawn, I'm not the pup for you.

Leash Manners: Amazing. I walk like a dream on my harness and keep slack the whole walk.

Exercise:Active pup so must get significant daily exercise and playtime... power walking/jogging, hiking, swimming, etc. Running and playing with other dogs is important for me to meet my social and exercise needs. Doggy playdates are great for me where we create our own "dog park".

Car Rides:Good in the car in the backseat. Will sometimes put my head on your shoulder or in your hand.

Basic Commands: Come, Sit, Stay, (working on Shake), No, Leave It, Boys...that’s enough! (When my furry foster brother and I am getting too rough in play)

Things I need in my forever home:
-Active family that likes to exercise daily by taking lots of walks/runs, hikes and fun outdoor adventures
-Someone who will continue to socialize me appropriately with strangers coming into the home, especially working on my fear of men.
-Someone who's not gone long hours and home more often than not. I'm young and active and need someone with the time to commit to my exercise and training.
-Positive reinforcement obedience training classes REQUIRED as I have so much potential and am so smart. This will help us bond and build our relationship and it's so much fun.
-Must have a nice, neutral, active dog who will run, romp, wrestle and play with me, and one who will share toys with me and snuggle. I really love other dogs and thrive learning from them.
-I'd be fine with older children who are past the loud and chaotic stage, and know how to respect the boundaries of a dog

So, if you are looking for a absolute LOVE BUG who has the sweetest soul, a lovely temperament, loves dogs, enjoys snuggling with you on the couch or bed, craves affection...I'm your perfect pup! I just ooze with sweetness and love and I have all of that unconditional love just waiting for YOU! I'm a special pup who has touched the hearts of everyone who meets me. My precious face and sweet personality will bring joy and laughter to your life each day. I can't wait to curl up in your lap for snuggles and enjoy life together!

Luv, Rocky

Photos by Susan Peck Photography and videos by Rocky's foster family

Additional information: *Housetrained *Current on shots