Meet Richie-China Dog!

CLICK HERE to find out about our adoption policies.

CLICK HERE to apply.

Richie-China Dog

Breed:Golden Retriever (purebred)
Age: 1.5 years
Gender:male
Weight: 53 lbs
Altered: Yes

**Richie is a Golden Retriever rescued from the meat trade in China. AGN worked directly with China Rescue Dogs, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, established to rescue and rehabilitate dogs from the meat trade. They go through extensive protocols, procedures and vetting to be relocated to the US to find their forever homes. If you have not read about the dog meat trade in China and the "Yulin Dog Meat Festival", we encourage you to do your research and visit ChinaRescueDogs.org. These rescued Goldens may come with issues related to having to survive. Such issues may include: resource guarding, food aggression, separation anxiety, fear of noises, fear of the dark, etc. THE CHINA GOLDENS WILL HAVE SPECIFIC REQUIREMENTS LISTED IN THEIR BIOS. They've made wonderful progress, but will continue to be a special project requiring positive reinforcement training and guidance. They are true survivors and a symbol of hope!**

Hi, I'm Richie...your perfect best friend! I'm a social, happy, sweet, inquisitive, fun and snuggly fella who is enjoying my new life in the United States. I'm a 1 and 1/2 year old Golden Retriever and weigh 53 pounds. I'm working on putting on some weight.

I was rescued from the meat trade in China. I show a bit of doggie PTSD occasionally from my sad past. I'm learning what it's like to experience all the fun, joy and love from kind humans. I'm having a blast in my foster home, but it's time for me to find my forever family to enjoy life with. Could you be my special someone?

Personality Traits: I'm a sweetie who wags my entire boy with joyful exuberance. I'm energetic, fun, affectionate, happy as a camper and love to cuddle with my humans. Super smart with major potential if training is maximized. I'm truly a great young dog, but I have a bit of PTSD from having to survive in the meat trade with many other dogs. I have resource guarding toward other dogs (not humans at all) if any type of toy (squeaky, stuffy, ball, chewy, etc.) is around. I will protect all of these toys from other dogs because I've never had them until now, and I find them of high value. This is a non-issue if I'm in an environment as an only dog, but there cannot be toys out for me to play with around other dogs. I must have someone who fully understands that resource guarding of my toys with other dogs may remain throughout my life. I must have someone committed to following the management protocol that works. It's easy...as an only dog I can have all the toys that my heart desires, but if with another dog, no toys at all! I have no issues with food with other dogs, but all the dogs in my foster home are fed separately from each other just because it provides us all a place of our own to enjoy our meal. I take treats right next to my furry foster siblings.

Status with People:Stranger...what stranger? I never meet a stranger! I'm excited to meet everyone! Love all people and children, but I'm too energetic for young children. I'm happy, bouncy and jumpy (all part of being a young dog).

Status with Dogs: Good with other dogs after an initial adjustment period in the very beginning, just to figure out pack order. Then, I love to run, romp, play, wrestle and snuggle! I'm confidant and am not a good match with a dominant male. I play hard and enjoy rough-housing. I have 3 Golden foster siblings. Golden foster sister is older and in charge. I adore my Golden foster brother, Gus, but we both want to be in charge. My other Golden foster brother ignores both of us as he thinks we're silly pups. Due to resource guarding of toys, there can be no toys when I'm with other dogs.

Status with Cats:Unknown. I don't have a prey drive, but there are no cats in my foster home and I've never seen one in the US.

Favorite Toys:I LOVE all toys! Stuffies, squeaky toys, Kongs, balls...if it's a toy, I love it! I'm great at a game of fetch. I retriever like a pro and play ball every day with my foster dad for about 20 minutes at a time. Remember my resource guarding with dogs (not humans). **NO TOYS WITH OTHER DOGS AT ALL! And no dog parks because of balls, etc. there. I can have all the toys my doggy heart desires if I'm an only dog.

Energy Level: Typical active young Golden. Active and energetic outside with my furry foster siblings, but settle down for snuggles when tired. I get lots of exercise playing with my 1 year old Golden foster brother. Without this high level of exercise and playtime, my energy level will increase.

House Trained:Yes. I'm on a schedule, but will go to back door and wait it extra potty is needed.

Crate Trained: CANNOT BE CRATED! Because of my background and the excessive days crated to get to the US, a crate is not my friend. In my foster home I have free roam without issue, but I am not left for long, extensive periods of time and I have my Golden foster siblings. I have free roam of the house with my furry foster siblings without any issues.

House Manners::Great house manners, especially for my young age. I don't bother anything in the house. I love to snuggle on the couch with my foster family. I sleep on a doggy bed in my foster parents' room.

Leash Manners: I'm strong for my size and pull in excitement. My Walk Your Dog With Love harness is key to reduce my pulling. I'm just excitable right now and everything is a fun adventure so I want to move faster than you. After the first mile, I get better...I just prefer you go faster!

Exercise::I'm active so must get significant daily exercise and playtime. Would be a great companion for power walking/jogging, hiking, going swimming, etc. Look at me learning to swim in the video. I'm not hyper, but energetic due to my young age.

Car Rides:I'm good in the car, but my foster family attaches my leash to the headrest with a carabineer clip as I love my humans so much that I want to be in the front seat with them.

Storm phobia: None. Storms and loud noises do not bother me a bit. I do like to bark at random noises that I may hear and you don't. I don't bark at people, but I do like to bark at the squirrels in the trees.

Basic Commands:"Sit" and I know my name.

REQUIREMENTS FOR MY ADOPTION
-Someone who is dog experienced and understands what I've been through being rescued from the meat trade in China. I may not carry physical scars, but I remember the horror.
-Someone who is home more often than not on a regular basis. Someone who doesn't work, works from home or works part time. I'm used to my family being home often with me and my furry siblings. I thrive in this environment because I'm young, active and need someone with the time to commit to my exercise and training. China Dogs are still learning new things each day and need lots of positive reinforcement training.
-Positive reinforcement obedience training classes REQUIRED - this will help us bond, build our relationship and it's so much fun. Just remember do not let me get close to dogs with toys, but I'm fine with treats around other dogs.
-NO CRATING due to background of excessive caging and crating. Baby gates only!
- Active family who likes to exercise daily by taking walks/runs through the neighborhood, hikes in the park, take me swimming, etc.
-PREFER to be an only dog where I can play with toys as I love them!!! I'd be fine to have regular dog friends, but no dominant males and no toys involved in play dates. No dog parks due to balls and toys often being there.
-If another dog, there can be no toys at all...none! The dog would need to be female and neutral in temperament.
-Children should be 14 and older. Children must have grown up around dogs.
-No townhomes or condos. Single family home with a secure physical fence.
-AGN requests that you keep the name given as Richie knows his name and it was given by his rescue volunteers in China.

Adopting a "China Dog" means a commitment to a special project. I have a solid temperament, but I am still learning new things each day. I will need constant positive reinforcement training, along with patience and understanding. I come with a sad past and I will carry that past with me, although my resilience is amazing. I need a family that is easy going, but attentive, and yet an active family who will give me daily exercise through walks/runs, ball playing and take me on fun adventures.

So if you're ready to make a commitment to my needs and understand that I'll always carry my past with me, I'm here to start life's journey with you. I'm a wonderful Golden who will take hold of your heart and change your life forever. If I could talk, I could write a book as to what I've experienced in my short life. But out of those experiences I've always been void of unconditional love. I'm not perfect, but I have so much love and life to share with you.

I'm a special fella with a special story. I'm a survivor! With all I've been through, I have so much love to give and snuggles to share. Just ask for me....Richie! When you look into my soulful eyes, you'll fall in love!

Luv, Richie the China Dog

Photos by Amanda Murray Photography and videos by foster family

Additional information: *Housetrained *Current on shots