Meet Maggie!

CLICK HERE to find out about our adoption policies.

CLICK HERE to apply.

Maggie

Breed: Golden Retriever (purebred)
Age: 9 months
Gender: female
Weight: 57 lbs
Altered: Yes

SWEET, SOCIAL BUTTERFLY ALERT! Hi, I'm Maggie. I'm a happy, snuggly, 9-month old girl who loves attention and will be your new Velcro shadow! I'll brighten your world with my spunky personality! I am approximately 57 pounds of pure fun and entertainment!

I was surrendered to AGN because my family worked long hours and did not have time for the needs of a puppy. I'm having a wonderful time with my foster family, both human and furry. It's now time for me to start the next chapter of my life with my forever family. My foster family loves me so much as I am just the best girl who wants to please everyone.

Personality Traits: I'm a sweetheart of a pup who is also a lot of fun with my charming personality. I'm very playful and funny too.. I keep my foster family on their toes! I’m a social butterfly, playing with my 18-month old furry foster siblings and 5-year old furry foster brother. But once I get sleepy, I like to stay close and snuggle with you! With a little more formal training, I will be the best girl ever.

Status with People:I love my foster family and love everyone I get to know, especially if you will pay attention to me. I love meeting new people, and out of excitement, I tend to jump on them sometimes. My foster family is working with me on this. I'm a super-smart girl too! I know little ones very well as I live with two young children in my foster home….I know they do not like to be jumped on, so I don't do this.

Status with Children:Older children are fine, but no young, small children as I could be nervous around them.

Status with Dogs: I LOVE dogs! I'm great with other dogs and love to play. My best buddies are my two foster siblings. My 18-months old fur sister and I love to romp and play until we tire each other out. My furry foster brother, who is 5-years old, always let me know when I’m playing too rough with him….I’ve learned his signals and I am respectful of this. However, I would be a bit too much for a senior dog as I am much too active for them. I'm neutral in temperament and both of my furry foster siblings are neutral.

Status with Cats: unknown

Favorite Toys: I LOVE toys, especially if I can share them and play tug with my furry foster siblings. I'm a tough chewer, so I can only have toys without stuffing and those made with dense enough materials that I can’t eat any pieces that could break off. Nylabones, Benebones, elk, and frozen Kongs are excellent for me! I don't resource guard, but I am still learning boundaries as I am learning to share toys with my foster siblings.

Energy Level: Active and energetic running, romping and playing with my foster siblings. We play in the house also but settle down for snuggles when I get tired. I get a lot of exercise as I'm running and playing most of the time with my best furry friends. I still have a lot of playful puppy energy, but I calm down nicely after exercise and playtime and I have a sweet temperament overall.

House Trained: Yes, but you must take me out immediately if I have been in the crate at all. When I'm not in the crate, I go to the back door to let you know I need to go potty.

Crate Trained: Yes, I am crate trained, but isn't required. Because of my past a crate can be a negative place or it can be a reassurance resting area for me. A crate will must be presented in a positive manner. My preference is to have a crate in the master bedroom with the crate door left open so I can come and go as I please.

House Manners: I have good house manners for such a young age and have come such a long way after being in my foster home, but puppy-proofing is still a MUST. I still chew things I shouldn't, but I redirect well when offered a toy. I'm a work I progress! I sleep either in the bed with my foster parents or in the crate next to my foster parents' bed.

Leash Manners:Wonderful! I have been worked with extensively with my foster family walking with my "Walk your dog with Love" harness.

Exercise:Active pup so must get significant daily exercise and playtime... power walking/jogging, hiking, swimming, etc. I get walked 2-3 miles a day and I get a lot of exercise running and playing with my foster sibling...it is important for me to meet my social and exercise needs. Doggy playdates are great for me where we create our own "dog park".

Car Rides:Good in the car

Basic Commands: Sit and working on a few others in foster home.

Things I need in my forever home:
-Active family that likes to exercise daily by taking lots of walks/runs, hikes and fun outdoor adventures
-Someone who will continue to socialize me appropriately with strangers coming into the home and on my daily walks.
-Someone who's not gone long hours and home more often than not. I'm young and active and need someone with the time to commit to my exercise and training.
-Positive reinforcement obedience training classes REQUIRED as I have so much potential and am so smart. This will help us bond and build our relationship and it's so much fun.
-Must have a younger, neutral, and active dog who will run, romp, wrestle and play with me, and one who will share toys with me and snuggle. I really love other dogs and thrive learning from them.
-I'd be fine with older children who are past the loud and chaotic stage, and know how to respect the boundaries of a dog

So, if you are looking for an absolute happy, social butterfly who is just the sweetest girl, a lovely temperament, loves dogs, enjoys snuggling with you on the couch or bed, and craves affection...I'm your perfect girl! I just ooze with sweetness and love, and I have all that unconditional love just waiting for YOU! My adorable face and sweet personality will bring joy and laughter to your life each day. I can't wait to curl up in your lap for snuggles and enjoy life together!

Luv, Maggie

Photos by Amanda Murray Photography and foster family

Additional information: *Housetrained *Current on shots