Meet Finna-China Dog!

CLICK HERE to find out about our adoption policies.

CLICK HERE to apply.

Finna-China Dog

Breed:Golden Retriever (purebred)
Age: 4-5 years
Weight: 49 lbs
Altered: Yes

**Thanks to the kindness of an anonymous donor, Finna's adoption fee is now $500. Due to the extraordinary costs associated with our rescued China dogs, including international airfare and extensive vet care, the costs to save these Goldens from slaughter far exceeds our adoption fees.

**Finna is a Golden Retriever rescued from the meat trade in China. AGN worked directly with China Rescue Dogs, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, established to rescue and rehabilitate dogs from the meat trade. They go through extensive protocols, procedures and vetting to be relocated to the US to find their forever homes. If you have not read about the dog meat trade in China and the "Yulin Dog Meat Festival", we encourage you to do your research and visit These rescued Goldens may come with issues related to having to survive. Such issues may include: resource guarding, food aggression, separation anxiety, fear of noises, fear of the dark, etc. THE CHINA GOLDENS WILL HAVE SPECIFIC REQUIREMENTS LISTED IN THEIR BIOS. They've made wonderful progress, but will continue to be a special project requiring positive reinforcement training and guidance. They are true survivors and a symbol of hope!**

Hang onto your heart as I'll steal it in an instant! Hi, I'm Finna (pronounced with a long "e" sound like "Feena"). I'm a sweetheart who is learning the world for the first time and blossoming each day as I learn to be the Golden that I'm meant to be. My passport from China states that I'm 5 years old, but I may be a bit younger. I'm a petite Golden Retriever at approximately 49 pounds. I'm beautiful inside and outside.

I was rescued from the meat trade in China. I show a bit of doggie PTSD occasionally from my sad past. I'm experiencing love, happiness and fun for the first time...and oh boy, am I enjoying life in my foster home! My foster mom say I'm a "keeper", but she knows that her role is to help me find my forever family so she can help more Goldens in need.

Personality Traits: I'm sweet, laid back, moderate energetic, playful, curious, friendly and little hesitant of new experiences, but learning quickly. Right now, I'm learning how to be a dog...learning the joys of life inside with a family. I crave affection and am a velcro shadow unless playing with my furry foster sister. I'm a bit like a puppy in an adult body because I never got to experience puppyhood. I have a bit of PTSD from having to survive in the meat trade with many other dogs. I have food aggression toward other dogs IF food is not managed appropriately around me. I go into survival mode if food is placed randomly on the floor where I feel I have to be defensive to get the food. I likely had to fight to eat to survive. This is only with food as I'm fine taking treats right next to my furry foster sibling. I must have someone who fully understands that food aggression may remain throughout my life or it could become almost non-existent in time. Either way, I must have someone committed to following the management protocol that works. I must be fed my meals separately from other dogs. I turn in circles when I'm excited or anxious. This is likely due to the meat trade confinement I lived in while in China. It likely also has to do with a long term ear infection I came to the US with that affected my inner ear and equilibrium. I'm great with other dogs and all humans.

Status with People:I'm great with all people! I'm friendly to all humans, eagerly greeting them in a polite manner. I'm good with children I meet on the street. I really just love everyone!

Status with Dogs: It depends of the dog. I adore my Golden foster sister and we get along well, but I'm selective about my dog friends. With my Golden foster sister, we like to snuggle, play, run and wrestle. I follow her everywhere. We share toys nicely and love a game of tug-o-war. I did fine with the other China Dogs that came to the US, but did not care for the higher energy dogs when visiting a home with three male Goldens. I'm reactive with happy, bouncy dogs. I prefer older, laid back dogs where I do not feel threatened or the need to go into survival mode. I'd likely do best as an only dog where I get all of the love and attention if you spend lots and lots of time with me. **My Golden foster sister and I are fed separately due to my food aggression. I understand that my Golden foster sister and I eat in separate corners so the routine is successful. We got into a fight only once when foster dad accidently dropped our kibble in the floor...but after the tussle, we snuggled right up for a nap together.

Status with Cats:Cats unknown, but I am a critter chaser with my Golden foster sister.

Favorite Toys:LOVE STUFFIES! I have discovered the fun of the toy basket, taking toys all over the house. I also enjoy a stuffed Kong. I will chase after the ball, but need some work on retrieving. I haven't figured that out yet. I'm learning how to be a dog and am quite puppyish so everything is a toy for me right now if you do not puppy, toilet paper, etc. It's important to redirect me to my toys and praise me if I have something I shouldn't.

Energy Level: Moderate overall. I'm more energetic outside with my Golden foster sister or when playing with her inside, but settle down nicely. I'm laid back with energetic moments.

House Trained:Yes for the most part, but a schedule is key, recognizing when I'm telling you I need to go out and making sure that I always potty when outside as I get easily distracted...just like a puppy. AGN recommends training me to "poochie bells" so I could give clear communication that I need to go out. Make sure that you pick up my poop after I potty as I occasionally will try to get it due to my past having to survive. I get a cube of pineapple daily as this deters me.

Crate Trained: CANNOT BE CRATED! Because of my background and the excessive days crated to get to the US, a crate is not my friend. If you must leave me alone without supervision, gated off areas would work best for me, although I'm not a fan. In my foster home I have free roam without issue, but I am not left for long, extensive periods of time and I have my Golden foster sister.

House Manners::I have good house manners, but puppy proofing is key because I'm learning! Although I'm 3-5 years old, I'm a puppy at heart and learning inside living for the first time. I'm learning what's mine to play with. It's your responsibility to guide and teach me with positive reinforcement. I'm not destructive, just curious and learning. I sniff the counter tops if food is up there while you are cooking. Foster mom does not leave food out on the couther otherwise. I sleep in my foster family's room, typically on the floor vs. the dog bed. Hopefully soon I will learn the luxury of a comfy dog bed. I do not get on the furniture.

Leash Manners: Amazing on a leash and will even walk naturally in a "heel' position mostly...until there is a critter and then I pull. I mean there has to be some fun on a walk, right?!?

Exercise::I play a lot with my Golden foster sister. We run, wrestle, tug with toys and play. I have a 1 acre yard and I enjoy chasing critters, etc. I also go on walks through the neighborhood. It's fun learning the world outside of my foster home.

Car Rides:I'm good in the car so I'm ready to go out for fun adventures.

Phobia: Not bothered at all by storms but I did get a little nervous during the 4th of July fireworks that were right next to my foster home. My foster mom stayed with me and cuddled me, which helped me calm down.

-Someone who is dog experienced and understands what I've been through being rescued from the meat trade in China. I may not carry physical scars, but I remember the horror, creating food aggression and circling. These hopefully will decrease as I move further along in time from my sad past.
-Someone who is home more often than not on a regular basis. Someone who doesn't work, works from home or works part time. I'm used to my family being home often with me and my furry siblings. I thrive in this environment because I need someone with the time to commit to my exercise and training. China Dogs are still learning new things each day and need lots of positive reinforcement training.
-Positive reinforcement obedience training classes REQUIRED - this will help us bond, build our relationship and it's so much fun. I'm have a puppy brain in an adult body. I have never been worked with before. Everything is new to me.
-NO CRATING due to background of excessive caging and crating. Baby gates only!
-Moderately active family that who likes to go on daily walk, hikes and other fun adventures.
-Need a nice dog companion, without food aggression, who is enjoys snuggling for naps, playful and will share toys. My Golden foster sister is a spunky senior.
-Best as an only dog due to resource guarding of food and selective about dog friends.
-Due to no history of living with children and no children in my foster home, children should be 12 and older. Children must have grown up around dogs and understand the importance of managing my food protocols correctly.
-No townhomes or condos. Single family home with a secure physical fence.
-AGN requests that you keep the name given as Finna knows her name and it was given by his rescue volunteers in China.

Adopting a "China Dog" means a commitment to a special project. I have a lovely temperament, but I am still learning new things each day. I will need constant positive reinforcement training, along with patience and understanding. I come with a sad past and I will carry that past with me, although my resilience is amazing. I need a family that is easy going, but attentive, and yet a moderately active family who will give me daily exercise through walks/hikes, playing and take me on fun adventures. I'm still learning how to be a dog, so physical and mental stimulation is important to keep me well balanced.

So if you're ready to make a commitment to my needs and understand that I'll always carry my past with me, I'm here to start life's journey with you. I'm a wonderful Golden who will take hold of your heart and change your life forever. If I could talk, I could write a book as to what I've experienced in my life. But out of those experiences I've always been void of unconditional love. I'm not perfect, but I have so much love and life to share with you.

I'm a very special girl who wants nothing more than a forever family to love and cherish me. I'm a wonderful Golden who is as sweet as can be and blossoming each day. So, if you're committed to maximizing my potential through positive reinforcement training, exercise and fun...I'm your perfect companion. You will not find a more precious pup to steal your heart and create wonderful memories with!

Luv, Finna the China Dog

Photos by Amanda Murray Photography and foster family

Additional information: *Housetrained *Current on shots