Meet Colby!

CLICK HERE to find out about our adoption policies.

CLICK HERE to apply.

Colby

Breed: Purebred Lab
Age: Approx 7-8yrs
Gender:Male
Weight: 65 lbs
Altered: Yes

Handsome and happy, that’s me, Colby! I’m one sweet and smart guy –my foster mom says I’m the perfect of balance of independence and pure affection and tenderness! I’m an approximately 7-8 year old purebred Labrador and I weigh 65lbs.

I was surrendered to AGN when my family had a change of life circumstances and I want more than anything to find my forever family to give all my love! Is it you? I’m sure to steal your heart!

Personality Traits: TI’m a tenderhearted sweetheart! At first I can seem shy and timid but I warm up quickly and love to show off what my foster mom calls my “primitive skills”—I’ve buried a bone in the backyard and love to be in a “den” environment—like sleeping in corners of small rooms. After my morning breakfast I like to come back and cuddle up at the feet of my foster family while they work from home. I’m a true love bug!

Status with People:Although I can be shy at first, I am great with all adults. I can be slow to warm up but still very affectionate. I like to greet visitors at the door (with a happy bark!) and really love it if they give me extra pets and cuddles. I get super excited when treats or food is around and sometimes I do like to “jump” to check out the tasty snacks my foster family has...who doesn’t love food?! I’m super sweet with children but because I am very food motivated, I might be tempted to sneak a taste of something that a small person has, so for that reason, I’d prefer a home without children.

Status with Dogs: I do well with other pups and coexist well with my 9 year old lab foster sister. We don’t play much together but we like to be near each other.

Status with Cats: I haven’t been around cats in my foster home and but I do like to roam the backyard on patrol for squirrels and chipmunks, so I might chase a kitty if given the chance.

Favorite Toys: When I’m outside, I love to play with soft toys and sometimes try to figure out how to get the squeaker out! I also love grab my toys and run around with them in my mouth in the yard. I’m not much for fetch but I do like to play keep-away with my toys.

Energy Level: I’m a moderate to low energy guy overall—I like to go on walks and explore the backyard but I also love my naps in my cozy spots in the house.

House Trained: Yes—when my foster mom and dad go out, I stay in the bonus room with my foster sister and I haven’t had any accidents.

Crate Trained: I don’t have a crate in my foster home and my foster mom thinks I might enjoy having one in my forever home so that I can make it my own little “den” and have my own special, safe place.

House Manners: Overall I have good house manners. As previously mentioned, I am very food motivated so occasionally I’ll grab a stray paper towel to destroy or give your plate a lick if you’re not watching! I would probably be super tempted by a floor trashcan if given the opportunity so my new family should make sure the can has a lid on it or kept in a pantry out of reach. I don’t destroy or try to chew shoes or furniture, though. During the day I like to lounge near my foster parents while they work from home and at night I sleep in my dog bed in a small little closet I have chosen as my favorite spot in my foster parents’ room. It’s my little den.

Leash Manners: I LOVE to go on walks and I’m so well behaved on a leash…I don’t pull and don’t pay much attention to other animals or people we see on walks.

Exercise:: I get tots of fresh air and play time in my fenced yard every day. I also like to take walks sometimes during my foster mom’s lunch, schedule permitting. I also love mental exercise with kibble treats for tricks.

Car Rides: I am a great car-rider. I love to sit in the back seat and watch out the window. I jump right in to and out of the car and lay down nicely.

Basic Commands: Sit, down, stay, come, paw. I’m is a fast learner and would definitely benefit and excel with further training—It would be a great way for us to bond!

Storm Phobia:Unknown as it hasn’t stormed much since I’ve been in my foster home—for the most part, I just like to be near my people or in my little den.

Special Needs:I tend to lick my paws at night, sort of like a baby with a pacifier, to soothe myself to sleep. My foster mom has been giving me CBD chews to help aid in my relaxation and rest at night (she gives them to me about an hour before bedtime) and they have helped greatly in the past few weeks. I would probably benefit from continued use of them in my new home while I get settled.

Things I need in my forever home:
-A home that has patience to allow me to settle in and become familiar with my new family and space. I might not seem like a Velcro shadow right away but in time I will become more comfortable and give you all my love!
-A calm, quiet and moderately active home that goes on walks in the neighborhood or local parks. I enjoy my outside time.
-Someone who is willing to invest in further training with me as I exude joy when showing off my talents!
-A large, fenced yard (at least 4 feet or higher) would be wonderful! I love to roam and rest outside in the grass and smell the smells passing by
-Someone who works part time or from home. I do fine when my foster parents are away for a few hours but I would do better with someone who is home most of them time—I will become very fond of you and like to be near my people.
-A home without children
-I’d be fine as an only dog but I also do well with other dogs, especially when my foster parents leave the house.

So if you’re ready to find a smart, sensitive and silly boy who will give ALL his love to you, look no further! I might be shy and reserved at first, but once I warm up to you, there’s no stopping my potential! We could do training classes together and I’d love to show you how smart I am! Can I be your “baby”?

Luv, Colby

Photos by Susan Peck and Foster Family Additional information: *Housetrained *Current on shots