Meet Bailey!

CLICK HERE to find out about our adoption policies.

CLICK HERE to apply.

Bailey

Breed:Golden Retriever (purebred)
Age: 1 year
Gender:female
Weight: 55 lbs
Altered: Yes

SWEET SNUGGLE BUG ALERT! Hi, I'm Bailey. I'm a sweet, snuggly, 12-month old girl who craves lots of attention! I'll brighten your world with my beautiful personality! I am approximately 55 pounds of pure fun and entertainment!

I was surrendered to AGN because my family worked long hours and did not have time for the needs of a puppy. I'm having a blast with my foster family, but now it's time for me to start the next chapter of my life with my forever family. My foster family loves me so much as I am just the best girl who wants to please everyone, but I must be an only dog in my new, forever home.

Personality Traits: I'm a sweetheart of a pup who is also a lot of fun with my energetic personality. I'm very playful and funny too...I keep my foster family on their toes! Although an active older puppy, I did not get to experience being a true puppy. I spent long hours in the crate as my owners had to work long hours. This did not give me time to be a puppy and learn things I should and shouldn't do. Because of this, I am a bit more immature than most puppies my age, so just give me a little time and training, and I will be your perfectly adorable girl!

Status with People:I love my foster family and love everyone I get to know, especially if you are sweet and pay attention to me. I'm often skeptical of strangers at first but will warm up soon when I know you are not trying to harm me or my foster family. I will sometimes bark out of fear and cower when strangers get close, but will warm up quickly when I look to my foster family for reassurance. My foster family uses force-free, positive reinforcement training for barking and encourage me to direct my attention to them when scared for reassurance of safety. I'm truly the sweetest girl, but likely have some scary memories of being home along for long hours. I just need to build more confidence and continue positive socialization.

Status with Dogs: I have two furry foster siblings, and while I get along with them most of the time, I have exhibited some resource guarding traits. Due to neglect in my past, I may become possessive or place high value to treats, toys or even my foster parent's attention. Because I may get jealous and I am still trying to learn to share, it would be best if I was an only dog in my forever home.

Status with Cats:I'm neutral with cats and live with one in my foster home.

Favorite Toys: I LOVE toys! I'm a tough chewer, so I can only have toys without stuffing and those made with dense enough materials that I can't eat any pieces that could break off. Himalayan Yak chews, elk, and frozen Kongs are excellent for me!

Energy Level: Active and energetic running, romping and playing in my yard at my foster home. I do play in the house also, but settle down for snuggles when tired. I still have playful puppy energy, but I calm down nicely after exercise and playtime and sweet temperament overall. I have puppy energy, so my furever home will need to take me on long walks, play in the yard, and I would probably love to be a jogging companion!

House Trained:Yes. I'm on a schedule and go out every two hours.

Crate Trained:Yes, but had a negative experience in my previous home where I was crated for long hours with no human or other doggy companion, so I will need to be worked with by a trainer to help me overcome my fear of crates.

House Manners: I have good house manners for such a young age and have come such a long way after being in my foster home, but puppy-proofing is still a MUST. I'm a work I progress, and I sleep either in the bed with my foster parents or on the floor with various dog bed options with my furry foster siblings.

Leash Manners:Wonderful! I have been worked with extensively with my foster family with walking with my "Walk your dog with Love" harness.

Exercise:Active pup so must get significant daily exercise and playtime... power walking/jogging, hiking, swimming, etc.

Car Rides:Good in the car and will settle right down and lay down in the back seat.

Basic Commands: Come, Sit, Stay, (working on Shake), Paw.

Things I need in my forever home:
-Active family that likes to exercise daily by taking lots of walks/runs, hikes and fun outdoor adventures
-Someone who will continue to socialize me appropriately with strangers coming into the home and on my daily walks.
-Someone who's not gone long hours and home more often than not. I'm young and active and need someone with the time to commit to my exercise and training.
-Positive reinforcement obedience training classes REQUIRED as I have so much potential and am so smart. This will help us bond and build our relationship and it's so much fun.
- Must be an ONLY dog in my new home.
- I'd be fine with older children who are past the loud and chaotic stage, and know how to respect the boundaries of a dog

So, if you are looking for an absolute LOVE BUG who is just the sweetest girl, a lovely temperament, enjoys snuggling with you on the couch or bed, and craves affection...I'm your perfect girl! I just ooze with sweetness and love, and I have all that unconditional love just waiting for YOU! I'm a special pup who has touched the hearts of everyone who meets me. My adorable face and sweet personality will bring joy and laughter to your life each day. I can't wait to curl up in your lap for snuggles and enjoy life together!

Luv, Bailey

Photos by Amanda Murray Photography and videos by Bailey's foster family

Additional information: *Housetrained *Current on shots