Meet Charlie!

CLICK HERE to find out about our adoption policies.

CLICK HERE to apply.


Breed: Golden Retriever (purebred)
Age: 8 years
Gender: male
Weight: 78 lbs
Altered: Yes

Sweet, soulful, southern gentleman looking for a lifetime of love and kindness! I'll charm my way into your heart and light up your world with joy and happiness. I'm Bailey, an active 8 year old Golden Retriever that's a loveable teddy bear! My DOB is 9/09 and I weigh 78 pounds.

I was surrendered with my companion, Violet. She is a 7 year old Golden Retriever and we were a breeding pair who've been together all of our lives. Our owner moved and could no longer care for us. Although Violet and I had to be separated into different foster homes, we are doing great and I'm ready to find my forever home. I've made a smooth transition to my foster home where I've made new furry friends. My foster parents love and adore me. They say someone's going to "hit the jackpot" when they add me to their family as it doesn't get any better than me!

Personality Traits: All around sweetheart who is the typical loving Golden, velcro shadow, gentle, laid back, easy going and adore just being with my humans; friendly to everyone and always happy to make new friends; want to please my humans and be loved; love to go to the shop that my foster mom owns and greet all the customers

Status with People: Love all people and gentle with children; friendly and eager to greet everyone with my tail wagging

Status with Dogs: Great with other dogs; excited to meet them and want to play; neutral to a bit on the submissive side; have four furry foster siblings, male and female, and easily found my place in the "pack"; because Violet used to take all of my food and goodies, I'll guard my high-value chewies from the other dogs, but not my humans as they can take it right from me ; I'm not aggressive at all, I just give a low growl and walk away to say..."hey, that's my chewy so please don't take it"; no food aggression and take treats gently right next to my dog friends

Status with Cats: status unknown

Favorite Toys: Love all toys and removes every one from the toy box as I like to have them all around me; enjoy playing fetch with any type of toy, whether it’s fluffy or a ball...I even bring it back to you so you can toss it again; squeaky toys get me happy and excited; like chewing on buffalo horns and nylabones

Energy Level: Lower to moderate energy inside with moderate energy outside; I can be quite active and playful outside with my dog friends and while playing fetch...and I LOVE to play fetch!

House Trained: Yes and use a doggie door

Crate Trained: No, I have free roam in the house and do great; I sleep on my orthopedic dog bed in my foster parents room at night

House Manners: Wonderful manners in the house and not destructive in any way; perfect gentleman and don't bother anything

Storm Phobia: No

Leash Manners: : Pull a bit if not on my Walk Your Dog With Love Harness, but it works wonders

Exercise:Love my daily walks; also get lots of exercise playing in the yard with my furry friends and playing ball

Car Rides:Good in the car; sit nicely for the ride

Basic Commands: Sit

Things I need in my forever home:
- Moderately active family that likes to engage in daily exercise such as strolls through the neighborhood and park, leisurely hikes through the trails, etc.
- Someone who enjoys spending lots of time with their furbaby...I'm a "hang out with you" kind of fella that loves to just chill out and watch movies with you, lie beside you when you read a book on the patio, hang out with you while you garden, nap next to you while you work on your computer....and of course, play ball with you and have some fun in the beautiful outdoors
- Because I crave human affection so much and spent most of my life with only my furry companion, I need someone who is home more often than not; someone who works part time; works from home or doesn't work, even someone who can take me to work with them (I love going to foster mom's retail shop
- I need a dog companion as I've never been an only dog and I would be lonely/
- I need orthopedic dog beds to protect my joints and bring me comfort when I nap and sleep.
- Children would be just fine as I'm gentle and do not jump

So, if you're looking for a sweet, gentle, loving soul to make your family complete, look no further! You'll wonder how you spent a day without me in your life because I'll bring you so much love and joy. I'm as close to perfect as you can imagine! I'm an active older Golden who wants nothing more in life that to be by your side, showing you unconditional love. I'm right here waiting to start our life's journey together.

Luv, Bailey

Photos by Julie Adams Photography and Bailey's foster mom

Additional information: *Housetrained *Current on shots